Skip to Main Content

FYEN 10101.10 What is Myth? - Byrne

LCSH

Library of Congress Subject Headings (LCSH)

The LCSH was developed and is maintained by the U.S. Library of Congress, for the collections of the Library. LCSH, as a controlled vocabulary used for indexing, cataloging, and searching for bibliographic records in library catalogs and electronic databases, has become a de facto standard for libraries who use cataloging records disseminated by the Library of Congress, or who catalog to the standards set collaboratively by the Library of Congress and the library community. 

Search The Hiram College Library Catalog

The Library Catalog includes records for books, journals, newspapers, government documents, microforms, DVDs, and audio recordings that are held in the library. The standard catalog does not include journal articles; use OneSource to search books and databases together. Remember: not all databases are included. Our A-Z list of databases and our Journal Finder can help you find more sources.

What Are Subject Terms?

A subject term is a standardized word or phrase that describes a main idea in the book or article. When an item is added to a database, the database will assign subject terms to it from the database's list of subjects. Most entries will have from 3 to 12 subject terms assigned.

Subject Terms Relevant for This Class: 

Start with a keyword search and then look at the subjects included with relevant results. You can then use a subject search for more precise results. Some subjects could include mythology or Gods. For a somewhat specific topic that you will be searching in this course, a keyword may yield more results in the library catalog. However, a subject search may be more fruitful when using databases to find articles. 

Other Sources:

Don't forget you may also use OhioLINK and SearchOhio.  Just leave time for the book(s) to arrive and make sure that your library account has been activated.

Combined Search - Catalog

Search for books using Hiram College Library catalog.

Click here for the A-Z List of Databases

The A-Z list provides a summary description of each database in the collection.  

Individual Databases:

 

Databases by Subject:

 
Advanced Search
Browse Journal Titles by Subject


Search for books at academic libraries across Ohio. Print books can be delivered right to the Hiram College Library and you can request them yourself without having to complete an interlibrary loan form. 

Selected Library Resources

Selected Library Resources:

  • A-Z List of Databases provided by the Hiram College Library
  • Hiram College Database Discovery Service (EDS) OneSource search allows a comprehensive search of most (but not all) of our databases, eBooks, and journals.
  • Hiram College Library Journal Search provides listings of our print and online journals and newspapers in one place. Journals with full text access have direct links from here. This page also has a subject listing of our electronic and print journal titles.
  • OhioLINK Catalog allows you to search and request materials from academic libraries across Ohio. These materials are delivered directly to the Hiram College Library.
  • OhioLINK Electronic Journal Center with 32 million journal articles from over 10,000 journals
  • SearchOhio allows you to search and request materials from public libraries across Ohio. These materials are delivered directly to the Hiram College Library.
  • If an item can’t be found any other way, you can request items via Interlibrary Loan.