Renew your books, check due dates, and more.
Make sure you have the barcode on the back of your ID ready!
Learn more about your library account.
Please take a few minutes and tell us how you feel about today's library session by completing our survey.
Part of today's class-time will be identifying resources and locating specific pieces of data for your assignment. This activity should get you well on your way to being prepared for the overall project.
We're here to help!
Here are some ways to get assistance:
Contact Janet Vogel, your class librarian. I can be contacted by email (firstname.lastname@example.org), or stop by my office in the library next to the elevator on the 1st floor. I typically work M-F 8:30-5:30 and will be glad to help if I'm available. To guarantee I'll be there, please set up an appointment by emailing me in advance.
Contact any of the librarians using email@example.com.
Contact the Ask Here via phone at (330)569-5489, or in-person for questions related to your account, finding call numbers, etc. The library is open 7 days per week during the school year. Visit our hours page for complete details.
Librarian Hours: Library staff will be available on Friday, February 3 from 2-5 p.m. specifically to assist you with this assignment when you have questions. Visit the Ask Here Desk on the first floor for assistance!
If prompted for a library barcode to access library materials, use your student ID number (found on the front of your ID card).
The first time you check out materials, student staff will register the barcode that is on the back of your ID card. You can then use either that number (with no spaces) or your student ID number when prompted for a barcode.
If you have any questions or if there is a problem with your account, please email firstname.lastname@example.org with your name, Hiram Student ID number (on the front of your ID), and the number on the barcode on the back of your ID. We will update your account within 1 business day.
OneSource is a way to search the Hiram College Library catalog, the OhioLINK catalog, and many of the library’s databases with a single search. OneSource employs a single search box, much like Google, to search multiple resources. OneSource may miss the most recent entries in a database, especially the Hiram College Library catalog.
Since terminology tends to vary across different disciplines, most researchers use a keyword search when using a resource like OneSource. While a keyword search will return a large number of varying results (like Google), you can limit these results after it’s completed using the filter options on the left hand side of the page. Happy searching!
Please contact library staff for help with narrowing your search to find the materials you want.
Search for books using Hiram College Library catalog.
Our catalog lists books (including eBooks), CDs, DVDs, journal titles (but not individual articles within journals), government documents, and microforms. If you are not sure how to search for materials in the catalog, see the Search Strategies below or contact us.
Need to know how to find it on the shelf? Try this: Track Down Your Book .
Didn’t find anything useful? Try the OhioLINK catalog. And don’t forget the SearchOhio link on the OhioLINK catalog as a way to expand your search. Remember that OneSource searches everything the library has access to.
Need to find still more? Try WorldCat and/or Google Books.
Search strategies for finding materials in our Catalog
This search looks for matching documents that contain one or more words specified by the you anywhere in the catalog. It is good for finding the largest possible return. However it can also result in materials that have nothing to do with your subject.
In the library catalog, select "Subject" in the drop down box to the left of the search field, then type in the box: Baseball (or, more specialized terms, such as: planetary motion; armadillo diseases; etc.).
The "*" is a truncation symbol that will retrieve various forms of each word, for example, use regulat* to find results like regulation, regulatory, regulators. The "and" will require that both terms appear, but not necessarily in the same phrase.
Title or Author Searches
In the library catalog, choose "Title" to locate a specific work or, choose "Author" to find books written by a particular author.
Material Type (book, eBook, etc.)
Select a material type from the dropdown to limit to a Book (physical item), eBook (digital item), musical recording, map, and more.
Select the Collection limiter to reduce your results to a particular part of the library, such as the film collection, juvenile collection, or government documents. Since the Government Documents collection is so large, it can sometimes overwhelm your results. Use the "All Collections Except Gov Docs" limiter to remove them from your search.
Find Books in the Juvenile Collection (2nd floor)
How it is Arranged?
The Juvenile Collection (also known as the Kids Books or the Children’s Collection) is actually four collections in one. What they have in common is:
The four collections are called:
Juvenile, which is the location given in the brief catalog record below:
The Juvenile collection contains non-fiction books, such a books about animals, biographies, as well as counting books and alphabet books. It is arranged by Dewey Decimal call numbers.
Juvenile Fiction, which is the location given in the brief catalog record below:
|JUVENILE FICTION||JF Se81b 2011||AVAILABLE|
Juvenile Fiction contains beginning to read, middle grade, and young adult fiction. It is arranged alphabetically by the author’s last name.
Picture books (call number begins with PB) contains picture books and are arranged alphabetically by the author's last name.
Board books (call number begins with BB) are books with thick, cardboard pages, typically for younger children. They are arranged alphabetically by the author's last name and stored in bins below the picture books.
How Do I Find Juvenile Books in the Online Catalog?
There are three tricks to finding fiction books (and sometimes non-fiction books) using the catalog. Let’s suppose you are looking for books on frogs. Here are two ways to find juvenile books on frogs:
Go to the Database A-Z List to sort databases by subject and other categories and see full descriptions of each database.
A library database is a searchable electronic index of published, reliable resources. Databases provide access to a wealth of useful research materials from academic journals, newspapers, and magazines. While there are some databases that are good for general research inquiries, many databases are subject specific, providing targeted information in selected areas of research. Some databases also include e-books, relevant Web resources, and various multimedia.
Library databases are different from internet sources. To access the databases provided by the Hiram College Library, you'll need to either be on campus on the Hiram College network, or you'll need to sign in when accessing from off campus.
If you know the database you're looking for, jump directly to it from the list here:
Use this search bar to look for databases by keyword:
Here is a list of the most commonly used databases in Hiram's collection:
You do not need to submit an interlibrary loan request to have a book from OhioLINK sent to the Hiram College Library. You can request materials on your own with your library barcode number. For help with requesting a book through OhioLINK, please contact our staff:
Materials take 3 to 5 business days (or sometimes longer) to arrive.
You will be notified by email when your materials arrive.
Books not picked up after 10 days are automatically returned.
Requests are blocked if:
You can check the status of your requests by checking your library account.
You do not need to submit an interlibrary loan request to have a book from SearchOhio sent to the Hiram College Library. You can request materials on your own with your library barcode number. For help with requesting a book through SearchOhio, please contact our staff:
Use the search box below to search for specific titles.
Search for Paper Journal, Magazine and Newspaper Titles Held at the Hiram College Library:
Use the Hiram College Library Catalog to search for paper journals by title. Example: Journal of African American History
The easiest way to locate a particular journal or magazine is to use the search box above.
What does using this search help you with?
What does this search NOT help you with?
Some issues that you may encounter when looking for Journals & Magazines.
You will be prompted to login to the EJC when accessing from off campus. See Connecting from Off Campus for help with logging in.
The OhioLINK Electronic Book Center (EBC) contains more than 125,000 e-book titles, covering numerous subjects, and includes scholarly monographs, encyclopedias, dictionaries and other reference works. Most e-books are permanently owned by OhioLINK. Content is funded through a combination of member library contributions and OhioLINK central funds.
You will be prompted to login to the EBC when accessing from off campus. See Connecting from Off Campus for help with logging in.
The WorldCat Catalog
Search WorldCat if you have exhausted other options for locating the items you need (Hiram's Library Catalog, OhioLink/SearchOhio, OneSource, etc.). WorldCat is the world's largest network of library content and services. Currently, this shared catalog contains the collections of 72,000 libraries in 170 countries and territories.
If you find something in WorldCat that you want but can't find it in the Hiram College Library collection or OhioLINK you'll need to fill out an InterLibrary Loan Form to request the item.
The time required to locate and obtain these materials can vary so please be proactive in your research. When in doubt please visit the library and talk to our librarians for help.
If you already have a citation from a bibliography or other source, you have everything you need to find the article if the library owns it!
First identify the title of the journal or the title of the article.
Scruton, R. (1996). The eclipse of listening. The New Criterion, 15(3), 5–13.
In the example above:
Then find the article:
Need a little more practice identifying the parts of a citation? The Virginia Tech University Libraries Citation Tutorial can help!