State and Local Research Resources: Home

The Encyclopedia of Alabama is a free, online reference resource on Alabama’s history, culture, geography, and natural environment.

Alaska's Digital Archives presents a wealth of historical photographs, albums, oral histories, moving images, maps, documents, physical objects, and other materials from archives, museums and libraries throughout our state.

The Digital Library of Appalachia compiles and records archival and historical resources pertaining to the southern and central Appalachian region’s culture. The materials of the DLA’s contents are provided by the Appalachian College Association member libraries special collections.

The CALS Encyclopedia of Arkansas is a free, authoritative source of information about the rich history, geography, and culture of Arkansas.

Originally launched in 2004 and redesigned in 2013, the NGE is the first state encyclopedia to be conceived and designed exclusively for publication online. This authoritative resource contains original content and helps users understand the rich history and diverse culture of Georgia's still-unfolding story.

The Online Nevada Encyclopedia is a project of Nevada Humanities, a publicly funded non-profit organization dedicated to engaging Nevadans in the intellectual, cultural, and civic life of the communities in which they live, and to preserving and making accessible Nevada’s rich and unique history and heritage.

The Colonial and State Records of North Carolina has been an extraordinary resource for students of North Carolina's history for over one hundred years. The series includes documents and materials from throughout the country and from several European repositories covering the earliest days of North Carolina's settlement by Europeans through the ratification of the United States Constitution.

The Youngstown State University Oral History Collection, begun in 1974, collects and preserves first-person narratives of northeastern Ohioans who have participated in, or closely observed events which have significantly affected both the state and nation. The Oral History Collection houses over eleven hundred interviews including personal narratives focusing on World War II, Vietnam, Youngstown College (University), Greek, Puerto Rican, Romanian, Russian and Italian culture, industry (steel, pottery, brick, labor relations, coal, and railroads), politics, the Holocaust, and religion.

The Oregon Encyclopedia of History and Culture provides definitive, authoritative information written in accessible and literate language about the State of Oregon, including significant individuals, places, institutions, events, peoples, and artistic expressions.

Historic Pittsburgh comprises primary and secondary sources about the greater Pittsburgh region, including a wide range of publications, maps, manuscripts, visual images, and audio-video materials, that support personal and scholarly research.

The on-line edition of the Tennessee Encyclopedia of History and Culture is a joint project of the Tennessee Historical Society and the University of Tennessee Press. This fully searchable version of the print edition, originally published in 1998, contains over 1,500 entries. The online version has updates to existing entries, new entries, more than five hundred additional images, plus audio and video files.

The mission of the Handbook of Texas is to foster the appreciation, understanding, and teaching of the rich and unique history of Texas and, by example and through programs and activities, encourage and promote research, preservation, and publication of historical material affecting the state of Texas.

Encyclopedia Virginia’s mission is to provide a free, reliable, multimedia resource that tells the inclusive story of Virginia for students, teachers, and communities who seek to understand how the past informs the present and the future.

HistoryLink is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit corporation established in 1997 to pioneer innovative approaches to historical research, education, and publishing. Its primary public service activity is production of HistoryLink.org, the free online encyclopedia of Washington state history and the nation’s first original encyclopedia of community history created expressly for the Internet.