MKTG 35500 Marketing Research - Library Guide - MKTG 35500 Marketing Research - Genc

Guide and Library Overview

This guide points to library resources that will assist you in using library resources to support your work in Marketing Research along with other courses that you take at Hiram.

We're here to help!

Here are some ways to get assistance:

Contact me directly using the contact box or any of the librarians using library@hiram.edu.

Contact the Circulation Desk via phone at (330)569-5489, or in-person for questions related to your account, finding call numbers, etc. The library is open 7 days per week during the school year. Visit our hours page for complete details.

Borrowing Materials (Circulation)
Learn about how to borrow materials from the library, how long you can keep them, and more.
Check your library account
Check your library account to see if you have any books due, renew items, and more.
Inter Library Loan (borrowing something hard to find)

Has it been a while since you used the Hiram College Library? Before you check out books, we need to update your library account with the barcode on the back of your student ID.

Please visit the Ask Here desk on the first floor any time with your student ID and ask to have your barcode added to your account. You can then check out physical items and OhioLINK eBooks.

If you are unable to access the library building, please email library@hiram.edu with your name, phone number, Hiram Student ID number (on the front of your ID), and the number on the barcode on the back of your ID. We will update your account within 1 business day.

Tutorials and Instructions

Use these links to learn more about searching the library's EBSCO databases.

Since EBSCO owns the majority of our databases, each platform is similar.

Using the Library's Online Resources
Why should you begin your research with the library's homepage? How do I know which database to use? Library staff provide an overview to help you get started using online resources for your research.
Getting Started with EBSCOhost Databases - Academic Search Complete
Library staff demonstrate how to find and begin a search in Academic Search Complete, an EBSCOhost database. Includes how to find full text, limit to peer reviewed sources, saving citations, and more.
Selecting and Using Search Terms - EBSCOhost Tutorial
Library staff demonstrate how to determine keywords and subject search terms to create the best searches for your topic using Academic Search Complete, an EBSCOhost database.
Using OneSource (EBSCO Discovery Service)
EBSCOhost staff provide an overview of using OneSource (also called the EBSCO Discovery Service). Note: our package does not include the Research Starter option.

Suggested Resources for this Class

The following databases are great places to start your research for this class.

Academic Search Complete and JSTOR are databases that search for information in all kinds of subjects, while the others in the list are specifically designed to focus on articles and information in the marketing, business, and communications subject areas. Use OneSource (Search Everything) in the Ways to Search box to search almost all of the library's books, eBooks, and databases at once.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database that indexes and abstracts some 9,300 periodicals, both popular and scholarly. Provides full-text to more than 5,300 journals.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts some 5,000 business-related publications. Provides full-text to more than 4,000 periodicals. Coverage of important scholarly journals goes back to the first issue (or back to 1886 in the most extreme case). Also includes financial data, industry reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses, market research reports, and more.
Communication and Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Indexes some 400 titles related to the media and communication studies. Nearly 200 of the titles are also available in full-text. Some coverage back as far as 1915.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Fully searchable full-text of nearly 1,000 scholarly journals. JSTOR provides back files to the first issue of a journal, but stops 3 to 5 years before the current publication year. Covers all disciplines.
Access World News Research Collection This link opens in a new window
Research diverse perspectives, topics and trends that align with curricular areas such as Political Science, English, Sociology, Humanities, Business, International Studies and more. Features reliable, credible information from a wide variety of international, national, and local news sources including the Akron Beacon Journal, Plain Dealer, Record-Courier, and USA Today. Available remotely 24/7 on any device.
Business Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexes nearly 900 publications (with more than 450 in full-text) on all aspects of business from accounting to technology. Coverage back to 1981.
Entrepreneurial Studies Source This link opens in a new window
Indexes periodicals, books, case studies, videos, and company profiles on topics related to entrepreneurship and small business.
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
The United States' most comprehensive collection of Industry Market Research and Industry Risk Ratings

Note: If you have difficulty accessing a PDF in the Safari browser when using EBSCO databases, please copy the permalink and try opening it in the Chrome browser. This is a known EBSCO error, and they are working to correct it.

Ways to Search

OneSource will search multiple resources at once!

Tip: Use a keyword search instead of a whole question. Then narrow down the results with the filters on the side.

Search the Hiram College Library, OhioLINK, and many databases with one search.

Need help? Email us at library@hiram.edu

A-Z List of Databases
Search journals by subject, type, or name.

Database - a searchable index of reliable resources like academic journals, newspapers, and magazines. Some databases focus on specific subjects and may also include e-books and multimedia.

What if the "A to Z List" does not have the journal or magazine I am looking for? It is a lengthy list, but it does not have everything. However, there is another option! Fill out the InterLibrary Loan Form for Articles, and we will attempt to get the article for you.
What if I cannot find the Full Text of an article? We would be happy to help you find the article you are looking for. Visit the Ask Here desk to ask for a librarian or email us.

Ohio Academic Libraries
Borrow books from academic libraries across Ohio and pick up at Hiram College Library with OhioLINK!
Ohio Public Libraries
Borrow from public libraries across Ohio and pick up at Hiram College Library with SearchOhio!

What types of materials can I borrow through SearchOhio and OhioLINK? You can request print materials, audiobooks, music, movies and other formats.
How long before I receive my requested material? Most arrive within a week, but it depends on their availability. You’ll be notified by email when they arrive.
How do I return items? Drop them off at Hiram Library!
Are there different rules for borrowing? Yes. Items have different loan periods, renewal limits, daily fine rates and replacement costs than the items you borrow from Hiram College Library.

Find a Specific Journal

Browse Journals by Subject

Locate a particular article if you know the title of the journal it is in and discover new journals in a particular subject area.

What if I cannot find the Full Text of an article?
- Please fill out the InterLibrary Loan Form for Articles, and we will attempt to get the article for you.
- Visit the Ask Here desk to ask a librarian or email us. We are happy to help!

OhioLINK Electronic Journal Center
From the OhioLINK website: OhioLINK’s Electronic Journal Center (EJC) is the first place Ohio’s college students and researchers go to find the latest journal articles. It contains over 32 million full-text articles in 10,000 journals from large publishers to small presses.The EJC is a full text searchable database of electronic journal articles from more than 11,000 academic journals from top scholarly publishers, academic societies and university presses. The EJC covers a wide range of disciplines and contains just published scientific research as well as historical journal articles. New articles are added daily.

You will be prompted to login to the EJC when accessing from off campus. See Connecting from Off Campus for help with logging in.

OhioLINK Electronic Book Center

The OhioLINK Electronic Book Center (EBC) contains more than 125,000 e-book titles, covering numerous subjects, and includes scholarly monographs, encyclopedias, dictionaries and other reference works. Most e-books are permanently owned by OhioLINK. Content is funded through a combination of member library contributions and OhioLINK central funds.

You will be prompted to login to the EBC when accessing from off campus. See Connecting from Off Campus for help with logging in.

The WorldCat Catalog

Search WorldCat if you have exhausted other options for locating the items you need (Hiram's Library Catalog, OhioLink/SearchOhio, OneSource, etc.). WorldCat is the world's largest network of library content and services. Currently, this shared catalog contains the collections of 72,000 libraries in 170 countries and territories.

If you find something in WorldCat that you want but can't find it in the Hiram College Library collection or OhioLINK you'll need to fill out an InterLibrary Loan Form to request the item.

The time required to locate and obtain these materials can vary so please be proactive in your research. When in doubt please visit the library and talk to our librarians for help.

Track Down Your Book

Tips:

Keyword Search Entering one or two specific words will find many results although some might be unrelated to your topic.

Subject Search Select "subject" in the drop down, then type baseball or more specialized terms, such as: planetary motion; armadillo diseases; etc.). The * at the end of a base word will find the different forms of a word, for example, use regulat* to find results with regulation, regulatory, regulators. Using "and" in between terms will ensure both words are found.

Title/Author Search Choose "Title" for specific works or "Author" for books by a particular author.

Material Type (book, eBook, etc.)
Select a material type from the dropdown to limit to a Book (physical item), eBook (digital item), musical recording, map, and more.

Collection:
Select the Collection limiter to reduce your results to a particular part of the library, such as the film collection, juvenile collection, or government documents. Since the Government Documents collection is so large, it can sometimes overwhelm your results. Use the "All Collections Except Gov Docs" limiter to remove them from your search.

Find Books in the Juvenile Collection (2nd floor)

How it is Arranged?

The Juvenile Collection (also known as the Kids Books or the Children’s Collection) is actually four collections in one. What they have in common is:

They contain books for pre-K through 12.
There is no breakdown on the shelves by age group, although picture books and board books are separated by format.

The four collections are called:

Juvenile, which is the location given in the brief catalog record below:

LOCATION	CALL #	STATUS
JUVENILE	597.89 Jen	AVAILABLE

The Juvenile collection contains non-fiction books, such a books about animals, biographies, as well as counting books and alphabet books. It is arranged by Dewey Decimal call numbers.

Juvenile Fiction, which is the location given in the brief catalog record below:

LOCATION	CALL #	STATUS
JUVENILE FICTION	JF Se81b 2011	AVAILABLE

Juvenile Fiction contains beginning to read, middle grade, and young adult fiction. It is arranged alphabetically by the author’s last name.

Picture books (call number begins with PB) contains picture books and are arranged alphabetically by the author's last name.

Board books (call number begins with BB) are books with thick, cardboard pages, typically for younger children. They are arranged alphabetically by the author's last name and stored in bins below the picture books.

How Do I Find Juvenile Books in the Online Catalog?

There are three tricks to finding fiction books (and sometimes non-fiction books) using the catalog. Let’s suppose you are looking for books on frogs. Here are two ways to find juvenile books on frogs:

Do a keyword search for frogs, but limit your search to the juvenile collection only. Your search would look something like this:

Do a subject search for frogs and use the phrase juvenile literature (to find mostly non-fiction books) or juvenile fiction (to find fiction books)

You may also search what the catalog calls genre/form using a keyword search. The most common genre/form searches in the juvenile collection are for: picture books for children, board books, and stories without words. This last one may retrieve items from the main collection or the fiction collection, so be sure to limit this search to the juvenile collection.