Hiram College Library: Psychology Research Guide: Start Here

This guide shows you how to use Hiram Library resources—like PsycINFO, PubMed, eBooks, and videos—to find peer-reviewed psychology research and related materials.

Need help?

Email Andria Morningstar-Gray, your class librarian, or stop by my office on the 1st floor of the library next to the elevator.
Trained writing assistants are available to help you with your assignments, including formatting and citing sources in APA, MLA, or other styles. Learn more about the Hiram College Writing Center here.

OneSearch

The one place to search the Hiram College Library.

Advanced Search | Journal Title Search | A-Z Database List

Recommended Resources

PsycINFO – essential for empirical, peer-reviewed research.

Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection – full-text journals.

APA eBooks – theory, methods, and topical books.

SAGE Video Counseling & Psychotherapy Collection – methods and applied examples

PsycINFO

🍎 Indexes psychology articles and book chapters published worldwide from 1887 to the present. Great for finding peer-reviewed, empirical research across many psychology topics. Watch Tutorials ▶️
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
Provides full-text to nearly 500 journals in psychology, psychiatry, and anthropology.
SAGE Video Counseling & Psychotherapy Collection
Over 480 streaming videos on counseling theory, approaches, skills, client populations, research methods, and professional issues. Includes real-life demonstrations and expert insights—ideal for Psychology, Education, and Social Work.

APA eBooks in the OhioLINK eBook Center (EBC)
A set of eBooks from the APA covering 2017, 2018, 2019, and 2020.

Specialized Databases

Disability in the Modern World – social advocacy, accessibility topics.

Medline / CINAHL / PubMed – health psychology or clinical projects.

Peace Research Abstracts – conflict resolution and peace psychology.

MIT Press Direct eBooks – interdisciplinary books if needed

PubMed

🍎 The National Library of Medicine’s database of biomedical and health literature, including Medline and additional references. Use it if your project overlaps with health, medicine, or clinical psychology topics. Watch Tutorials ▶️
Disability in the Modern World: History of a Social Movement.
Includes books, book chapters, articles, essays, and video, along with other primary sources. Covers issues such as accessibility, advocacy, rights, education, legislation and politics, technology, and more.
Medline (EBSCO)
The National Library of Medicine’s database of more than 11 million bibliographic citations in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care, and related areas. This EBSCO version adds full-text for a number of journals, as well as a Find It link for other citations so you can determine if the Hiram College Library provides access to that article.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text
Indexes some 1,800 journals in nursing and allied health, with full text of more than 770 journals. Coverage back to 1982.
Peace Research Abstracts
Full-text database of more than one quarter million items related to conflict resolution, international affairs, peace psychology, and other areas of peace research.
MIT Press Direct eBooks
Access the complete collection of more than 3,000 eBooks from MIT Press. Subject areas covered include art and architecture, biomedical sciences, business and finance, computer science, cognitive science, design, education, environment, game studies, humanities, information science, linguistics, neuroscience, new media, philosophy, and social sciences.

eBooks are DRM-free, downloadable as chapter PDFs, with no simultaneous user limit.

How did I do?

Please take a few minutes and tell me how you felt about today's library session: Library Survey