Hiram College Library: Education Subject Guide: Finding Articles

What are Databases?

Databases are online indexes of journal articles and abstracts. Many include full-text journal articles. Some databases also contain book chapters, newspaper/magazine articles, citations for books, and more.

In plain English, a database is what you would use to find articles!

Databases

Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts more than 1,500 journals covering all levels of education. Also includes full-text of more than 100 books and a number of conference papers.
ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
The world’s largest source of education information with more than 1.4 million citations to articles, books, conference papers, policy papers, and other education-related resources. This EBSCO version adds links to the full-text of articles in other EBSCO databases, as well as a Find It link for other citations so you can determine if the Hiram College Library provides access to that article. Also provided are links to the full-text of ERIC documents on the Department of Education’s ERIC Web site.
ERIC (Free) This link opens in a new window
The Department of Education, which creates the ERIC database, provides access to the world’s largest source of education information with more than 1.4 million citations to articles, books, conference papers, policy papers, and other education-related resources. This site provides links to the full-text of materials on the ERIC site only.
Chronicle of Higher Education This link opens in a new window
Generally considered “the No. 1 source of news, information, and jobs for college and university faculty members and administrators,” the Chronicle provides timely and credible news coverage of higher education in the U. S. and around the world. Note: create an account so that you can access the website directly when you are off campus without having to authenticate via the library.
Education Full Text This link opens in a new window
This full-text source of education scholarship provides coverage for a wide range of topics, including adult education, continuing education, literacy standards, multicultural/ethnic education, secondary education, teaching methods.

Content Includes: Full text of articles from over 350 journals as far back as 1996 Indexing of over 770 periodicals dating back to 1983 More than 100,000 controlled and cross-referenced names of educational tests
National Center for Education Statistics This link opens in a new window
NCES is the primary federal agency for collecting and analyzing data related to education in the United States and other nations.

PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
The online version of Psychological Abstracts provides indexing to articles and books chapters published worldwide from 1887 to the present.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text to nearly 500 journals in psychology, psychiatry, and anthropology.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database that indexes and abstracts some 9,300 periodicals, both popular and scholarly. Provides full-text to more than 5,300 journals.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Fully searchable full-text of nearly 1,000 scholarly journals. JSTOR provides back files to the first issue of a journal, but stops 3 to 5 years before the current publication year. Covers all disciplines.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Indexes articles, books, and dissertations on modern literature, languages, folklore, and linguistics. Coverage goes back to 1926.

OneSource
OneSource provides one-stop access to the Library's collections by searching across hundreds of catalogs, indexes, and databases.
Google Scholar
Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web. While Google Scholar itself is free on the web, many of the citations it references are not. Accessing Google Scholar via the proxied link will enable Find It! and other Links from within Google Scholar citations.

Click here for the A-Z List of Databases

The A-Z list provides a summary description of each database in the collection.

Reading the bibliographies of a good article or book can be very helpful. But how do you find one of the sources listed? Look up the part written in italics.

If your citation looks something like the one below, then it's an article. (Hint: You know it's a journal article if you see volume/issue/page #s.)

Morrow, P. ‘‘Those Sick Challenger Jokes.’’ Journal of Popular Culture. 20.4 (1987): 175-84.

Finding it:

   -look up the title of the journal in the OneSource Journal Finder (Note: Look up the journal title, which is in italics, not the "article title," which is in "quotation marks.")
   -if the journal is available electronically, you can search within the journal itself or click on the "Full Text Access" link, and check if we have access to the year you need
   -if the journal is available in print, read the rest of the journal's record to see if we have the volume/issue you need

If your citation looks something like the one below, then it's a book. (Hint: You know it's a book if you see a city and a publisher/press)

Framing Monsters: Fantasy Film and Social Alienation; Bellin, Joshua David; 2005, Carbondale : Southern Illinois University Press.

Finding it:
-look up the title of the book in the H iram Library Catalog
-if we don't have it, click on the OhioLINK button to find it in another Ohio library

OneSource Search

Advanced Search