| Key Concept | Synonym 1 | Synonym 2 | Synonym 3 |
|---|---|---|---|
| project-based learning | experiential learning | inquiry-based learning | hands-on learning |
| high school students | adolescents | teens | secondary students |
| engagement | motivation | participation | involvement |
The one place to search the Hiram College Library.
Covers 1,500+ journals on all levels of education (K–12, higher ed, adult learning, policy, and more). Includes some books and conference papers.
Use this for: A wide range of education topics.
The largest education research database (1.4+ million items: articles, books, reports, conference papers, policy documents). The EBSCO version links to full text when available. Use this for: Scholarly, peer-reviewed education research.
Indexes 770+ education journals since 1983; includes 350+ in full text from 1996 onward. Covers topics from literacy to multicultural education to teaching methods.
Use this for: Peer-reviewed articles and test information.
The main U.S. source for education statistics. Includes data on enrollment, graduation rates, school demographics, and international comparisons. Use this for: Reliable education data and statistics.
Recognized as the leading source of news, analysis, and job listings for college and university faculty and administrators. Stay informed about key issues in higher education in the U.S. and worldwide.
📌 Tip: Create a free account using your Hiram email to access content off campus without going through the library site.
A great starting point for research in many subjects. Includes thousands of full-text articles from both scholarly journals and popular magazines in the sciences, humanities, and social sciences. Watch Tutorials ▶️
Indexes psychology articles and book chapters published worldwide from 1887 to the present. Great for finding peer-reviewed, empirical research across many psychology topics. Watch Tutorials ▶️