African American Studies

More than 7 million items from some 100 historical collections at the Library of Congress.

The most comprehensive on-line source of historical photographs for Cleveland. It is filled with photos of some of the city’s architecture and landmarks, as well as interesting information on famous/infamous Cleveland area people such as Elliot Ness and Dr. Sam Sheppard. It is a collaborative effort of the Special Collections Dept., Digital Processing Unit, Technical Services Dept. & Systems Division at the Michael Schwartz Library, Cleveland State University.

Digital images from archives, historical societies, libraries and museums across Ohio. The state's answer to the American Memory Project, the database includes items from Hiram College.

A streaming video platform providing access to thousands of videos (with no overlap with Kanopy), mostly documentary in nature. Among the collections are Bullfrog Films, Icarus Films, BBC, Filmakers Library, Sony Pictures Classics, and more. Once a video is viewed a fourth time for 30 seconds or more, the library is billed for a one-year license. Please carefully select your items before clicking on them.

A streaming video platform providing access to thousands of videos, mostly documentary in nature. Among the collections are the Criterion/Janus Films Collection, First Run Features, PBS, HBO, Kino Lorber, California Newsreel, Media Education Foundation, and many more. Once a video is viewed a fourth time for 30 seconds or more, the library is billed for a one-year license ($150). Please carefully select your items before clicking on them.

Includes scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, reference books, and more related to the black experience. Consists of four basic components: Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience (interdisciplinary essays, videos, and images); The International Index to Black Periodicals Full-Text (journal articles); Newpapers (full-text of 7 black newspapers, including the Cleveland Call & Post) and Black Literature Index (bibliographic citations to fiction, poetry and literary reviews published in 110 black periodicals and newspapers between 1827-1940).

Includes scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, reference books, and more related to the black experience. Consists of four basic components: Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience (interdisciplinary essays, videos, and images); The International Index to Black Periodicals Full-Text (journal articles); Newpapers (full-text of 7 black newspapers, including the Cleveland Call & Post) and Black Literature Index (bibliographic citations to fiction, poetry and literary reviews published in 110 black periodicals and newspapers between 1827-1940).