Professor Pope has given you a list of authors who write novels set in medieval times. To find them, go into the Hiram College Library catalog and do an author search. Three things to remember:
1. You can always use the result to find a usable subject heading to broaden your search.
2. You can also do a keyword search using sometime of subject (person, place, country, or time period) and the word "fiction."
3. Don't forget you may also use OhioLINK and SearchOhio. Just leave time for the book(s) to arrive and make sure that your library account has been activated.
The Library Catalog includes records for books, journals, newspapers, government documents, microforms, DVDs, and audio recordings that are held in the library. The standard catalog does not include journal articles; use OneSource to search books and databases together. Remember: not all databases are included. Our A-Z list of databases and our Journal Finder can help you find more sources.
What Are Subject Terms?
A subject term is a standardized word or phrase that describes a main idea in the book or article. When an item is added to a database, the database will assign subject terms to it from the database's list of subjects. Most entries will have from 3 to 12 subject terms assigned.
Subject Terms Relevant for This Class:
Start with an author or keyword search and then look at the subjects included with relevant results. You can then use a subject search for more precise results.
Search for books using Hiram College Library catalog.
The A-Z list provides a summary description of each database in the collection.
Individual Databases:
Databases by Subject:
Search for books at academic libraries across Ohio. Print books can be delivered right to the Hiram College Library and you can request them yourself without having to complete an interlibrary loan form.
Selected Library Resources: