Hiram College Library: Garrettsville High School: Finding Articles

What are Databases?

Online indexes of journal articles, abstracts. Other types of databases also exist, including many that contain full-text journal articles. Some databases also contain citations for books, book chapters, newspaper/magazine articles, and more.

Keyword Examples:

Academic Search Complete

interpersonal communication

conflict

grief

listening

Subject Terms Examples:

Academic Search Complete

INTERPERSONAL relations

CONFLICT management

NONVERBAL communication

DATING (Social customs)

Finding Articles

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database that indexes and abstracts some 9,300 periodicals, both popular and scholarly. Provides full-text to more than 5,300 journals.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
Covers current and controversial social issues from immigration to gun control to fracking. Viewpoint essays present different sides to an issue and the database adds periodical articles, statistics, video/audio, news articles, and primary sources.
Explora Secondary This link opens in a new window
Explora Secondary Schools version is designed for students in grades 6-12. Users will be searching content in the following databases: Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia, Middle Search Plus, TOPICsearch, Primary Search, Newspaper Source, Health Source, MAS Ultra - School Edition, Columbia Encyclopedia, and Topic Overviews 6-12.
MAS Ultra: School Edition This link opens in a new window
Indexes more than 600 periodicals for high school students with some 500 in full-text. Also includes an image collection, some basic reference sources, and tables, charts, and graphs.
TOPICSearch This link opens in a new window
Current events database covering social, political, economic, and scientific events. Full-text from magazines, newspapers, polls, government documents, and other resources. Aimed at high school and middle school students.
Science Reference Center This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive research database of full-text resources designed for high school and introduction college science courses. Covers biology, chemistry, earth and space science, environmental science, medicine, physics, and the history of science. Includes periodicals, reference books, images, and videos.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database that indexes and abstracts some 9,300 periodicals, both popular and scholarly. Provides full-text to more than 5,300 journals.
Electronic Journal Center (EJC) This link opens in a new window
Searchable, full-text issues of journals from a number of major publishers. More than 7,000 journals are available.

Google Scholar
Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web. While Google Scholar itself is free on the web, many of the citations it references are not. Accessing Google Scholar via the proxied link will enable Find It! and other Links from within Google Scholar citations.

Art Full Text (1984 - ) This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive resource covering fine, decorative and commercial art, as well as photography, folk art, film, architecture.Content Includes: Full-text articles from more than 300 periodicals dating back to 1995 High-quality indexing and abstracting of over 600 periodicals dating as far back as 1984, including 280 peer-reviewed journals Indexing and abstracting of over 13,000 art dissertations Indexing of nearly 200,000 art reproductions A database-specific thesaurus
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts some 5,000 business-related publications. Provides full-text to more than 4,000 periodicals. Coverage of important scholarly journals goes back to the first issue (or back to 1886 in the most extreme case). Also includes financial data, industry reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses, market research reports, and more.
Education Full Text This link opens in a new window
This full-text source of education scholarship provides coverage for a wide range of topics, including adult education, continuing education, literacy standards, multicultural/ethnic education, secondary education, teaching methods.

Content Includes: Full text of articles from over 350 journals as far back as 1996 Indexing of over 770 periodicals dating back to 1983 More than 100,000 controlled and cross-referenced names of educational tests
Film and Television Literature Index This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts some 600 periodicals related to film, film writing, and television. Includes reviews.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexes more than 2,000 journals covering the history of the world (except the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life) from 1450 to the present. Also indexes relevant book reviews and dissertations.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
The online version of Psychological Abstracts provides indexing to articles and books chapters published worldwide from 1887 to the present.
SocIndex with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Indexes, with abstracts, 590 "core journals" back to 1895 in all fields of sociology, including anthropology, criminology, demography, and urban studies.
ISI Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Part of the Web of Knowledge platform, this is the combined database of the Science Citation Index, the Social Science Citation Index, and the Arts and Humanities Citation Index. Searchable by keyword and author, but more importantly by cited reference.

Reading the bibliographies of a good article or book can be very helpful. But how do you find one of the sources listed? Look up the part written in italics.

If your citation looks something like the one below, then it's an article. (Hint: You know it's a journal article if you see volume/issue/page #s.)

Morrow, P. ‘‘Those Sick Challenger Jokes.’’ Journal of Popular Culture. 20.4 (1987): 175-84.

Finding it:

   -look up the title of the journal in the OneSource Journal Finder (Note: Look up the journal title, which is in italics, not the "article title," which is in "quotation marks.")
   -if the journal is available electronically, you can search within the journal itself or click on the "Full Text Access" link, and check if we have access to the year you need
   -if the journal is available in print, read the rest of the journal's record to see if we have the volume/issue you need

If your citation looks something like the one below, then it's a book. (Hint: You know it's a book if you see a city and a publisher/press)

Framing Monsters: Fantasy Film and Social Alienation; Bellin, Joshua David; 2005, Carbondale : Southern Illinois University Press.

Finding it:
-look up the title of the book in the H iram Library Catalog
-if we don't have it, click on the OhioLINK button to find it in another Ohio library

OneSource Search

Advanced Search

Precision in Searching

The words "AND," "OR," and "NOT" can help you make a search more precise.

For example, the search 'films AND psychology NOT children', will return a search with results that contain the keywords 'films' and 'pyschology' but not 'children' - important if you are only looking at adolescent psychology in films.

Garrettsville High School

What are Databases?

Finding Articles

OneSource Search

Precision in Searching

Keyword vs Subject Searching