4, 5, 7, & 8 Management Databases - MGMT 11800 Organizational Behavior - Clevenger

General Databases

These databases contain broad subject coverage which applies to many disciplines.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
4 🍎 Multidisciplinary database that indexes and abstracts some 9,300 periodicals, both popular and scholarly. Provides full-text to more than 5,300 journals.

Using Academic Search Complete

Advanced Search features of Academic Search Complete

Communication and Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Indexes some 400 titles related to the media and communication studies. Nearly 200 of the titles are also available in full-text. Some coverage back as far as 1915.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
Covers current and controversial social issues from immigration to gun control to fracking. Viewpoint essays present different sides to an issue and the database adds periodical articles, statistics, video/audio, news articles, and primary sources.
SPORTDiscus This link opens in a new window
Indexes more than 400 journals in sports and sports medicine. Coverage back to 1985. Also indexes books and conference proceedings.

Management Sources

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
4, 5, & 7 🍎 Indexes and abstracts some 5,000 business-related publications. Provides full-text to more than 4,000 periodicals. Coverage of important scholarly journals goes back to the first issue (or back to 1886 in the most extreme case). Also includes financial data, industry reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses, market research reports, and more.

Once in Business Source Complete, click on "Company Information" in the blue ribbon at the very top of the screen to allow you to search for company profiles using limiters such as size, number of employees, and location. The video below reviews the process.

Management - Specialized Resources

IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
5 & 8 🍎 The United States' most comprehensive collection of Industry Market Research and Industry Risk Ratings

The video below will show you how to use IBISWorld to help you locate a trade organization:

Transcript for Using the IBISWorld Database to Learn More about A Trade Association
This is a Word Document file of the transcript for this video.

The video below will show you how to use IBISWorld to learn more about the market outlook for your industry topic.

Transcript for Using IBISWorld to Learn about the Market for Your Industry Topic
A Word Document file of transcript for this video.

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
5 🍎 Containing more than 15,000 credible news, legal and business sources, Nexis Uni includes access to print and online journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs, as well as local, regional, national and international newspapers, legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, business information on U.S. and international companies and executives.

There are two ways to obtain company information from Nexis Uni:

Search the "standard" Nexis Uni using either the main search bar or a guided search and narrow your results accordingly.
Use the Company Dossier option to see results that a business subscriber would see.
- Click Menu at the top left next to the Nexis Uni logo
- Select Company Dossier
- Search for your company name
- Remember that it will only return what it thinks are the top 3 results. Click the blue "view all" button to see all of the results.

Value Line Research Center This link opens in a new window
Full-text of the print Value Line Investment Survey, plus six other Value Line publications covering stocks, mutual funds, daily options, and convertibles.
Entrepreneurial Studies Source This link opens in a new window
Indexes periodicals, books, case studies, videos, and company profiles on topics related to entrepreneurship and small business.
Business Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexes nearly 900 publications (with more than 450 in full-text) on all aspects of business from accounting to technology. Coverage back to 1981.

USA Trade Online
Covers STAT-USA and the Foreign Trade Division of the U.S. Census Bureau data.
Contains monthly information on U.S. imports and exports on more than 18,000 commodities.
more...less...
Freely accessible database.

SBRnet (Sports Business Research Network) This link opens in a new window
One of the most comprehensive sports business information sources. Information includes Sports Participation Trends; Sporting goods market trends and statistics; Sports venue data, including sales and revenues for college and professional sports venues; Sports Fan reports; and Organization directories.