Hiram College Library: Hiram College Library: How do I Find Audio Visual Materials?

Searching for AV Materials

Searching for AV
AV at Hiram College Library

Some of the best sources for AV materials are listed below, any of the following databases can provide you a start in searching.

Images from the Fremont News Messenger This link opens in a new window
Photographs of people, places, and events appearing in Sandusky County's only daily newspaper. Covers 1973 to the mid-1990s. Provided by the Rutherford B. Hayes Presidential Center.
WPA Prints by Cleveland Artists This link opens in a new window
Scanned images of works of art by Cleveland artists commissioned by the Works Progress Administration during the Great Depression.
National Underground Railroad Freedom Center This link opens in a new window
Images and Documents from the Center and museum in Cincinnati.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Films on Demand (FOD) offers a set of 600+ curriculum-focused streaming video titles produced by Films for the Humanities and Sciences.
Alexander Street Video This link opens in a new window
A streaming video platform providing access to thousands of videos (with no overlap with Kanopy), mostly documentary in nature. Among the collections are Bullfrog Films, Icarus Films, BBC, Filmakers Library, Sony Pictures Classics, and more. Once a video is viewed a fourth time for 30 seconds or more, the library is billed for a one-year license. Please carefully select your items before clicking on them.
MAS Ultra: School Edition This link opens in a new window
Indexes more than 600 periodicals for high school students with some 500 in full-text. Also includes an image collection, some basic reference sources, and tables, charts, and graphs.
Ohio Memory Project This link opens in a new window
Digital images from archives, historical societies, libraries and museums across Ohio. The state's answer to the American Memory Project, the database includes items from Hiram College.
Science Reference Center This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive research database of full-text resources designed for high school and introduction college science courses. Covers biology, chemistry, earth and space science, environmental science, medicine, physics, and the history of science. Includes periodicals, reference books, images, and videos.

Finding AV Items in the Catalog

Spelling is important. Capitalization is not. Punctuation may be. Write down all call numbers before going to the shelf.

A quick way to see what the library owns is to visit the Catalog Search Page.
Enter one or two keywords and then limit the search by using some of the options:
- Material Type: use this to limit to Audiovisuals (films) or Musical Recording (CDs)
- Collection: Select HIRAM Film Collection to limit to or DVD and VHS collection
- Limit Your Search (optional): This allows you to further refine to a type of Sound Recording or Video Recording.
Select search once you have added all of the limiters you need.
If you have questions, ask a librarian!

Where are AV items stored?

DVDs, VHS, and Music CDs are stored on the lower level in the Chamberlain Room (near the elevator).