HIST 38000: Junior Seminar - Hwang (Spring 2021)

The Library Catalog includes records for books, journals, newspapers, government documents, microforms, DVDs, and audio recordings that are held in the library. The standard catalog does not include journal articles; use OneSource to search books and databases together. Remember: not all databases are included. Our A-Z list of databases and our Journal Finder can help you find more sources.

What Are Subject Terms?

A subject term is a standardized word or phrase that describes a main idea in the book or article. When an item is added to a database, the database will assign subject terms to it from the database's list of subjects. Most entries will have from 3 to 12 subject terms assigned.

To help you find relevant keywords for your research, you can often start with an author or keyword search. Then look at the subjects for the items that most closely match what you are looking for. You can use those subjects to search for more precise results. 

What is a specialized dictionary, encyclopedia, or reference work?

• These offer a general overview of a topic, much like a "regular" encyclopedia, but they are typically focused on a particular subject, geographic area, or historical era. Examples include the Encyclopedia of Food and Agricultural Ethics or Sources of East Asian Tradition. Use their articles to gain a basic understanding of your topic and their bibliography to delve deeper into the sources. 
• Other books will also have useful bibliographies, but they will not be arranged alphabetically for quick access to content. 

Keywords to try when searching for a specialized dictionary, encyclopedia, or reference work:

• Japan and Dictionary
• Japan and Encyclopedia
• East Asia and Sources
• Japan and Sources (insert other Asian countries in place of Japan for additional results)
• Japan and History and Sources

Once you found keywords for your topic, look at the subject headings to help you search more precisely. Note: many of the same subject headings and keywords will also appear in databases.

If you aren’t sure where to locate your books once you find them in the catalog, use our handy guide. 

Selected Library Resources to find books:

• Hiram College Discovery Service (EDS) OneSource search allows a comprehensive search of most (but not all) of our books, databases, eBooks, and journals.
• Hiram College Library Catalog allows you to search for books and eBooks owned by Hiram College.
• OhioLINK Catalog allows you to search and request materials from academic libraries across Ohio. These materials are delivered directly to the Hiram College Library.
• OhioLINK eBook Center with 125,000 e-book titles, covering numerous subjects, and includes scholarly monographs, encyclopedias, dictionaries and other reference works. 
• SearchOhio allows you to search and request materials from public libraries across Ohio. These materials are delivered directly to the Hiram College Library.
• If an item can’t be found any other way, you can request items via Interlibrary Loan.