Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

EDUC 48010: Senior Seminar Educational Studies

Search The Hiram College Library Catalog

The Library Catalog includes records for books, journals, newspapers, government documents, microforms, DVDs, and audio recordings that are held in the library. The standard catalog does not include journal articles; use OneSource to search books and databases together. Remember: not all databases are included. Our A-Z list of databases and our Journal Finder can help you find more sources.

What Are Subject Terms?

A subject term is a standardized word or phrase that describes a main idea in the book or article. When an item is added to a database, the database will assign subject terms to it from the database's list of subjects. Most entries will have from 3 to 12 subject terms assigned.

How Do I Find Subject Terms? 

Start with an author or keyword search and then look at the subjects included with relevant results. You can then use a subject search for more precise results. 

Combined Search

Search for books using Hiram College Library catalog.

Advanced Search

Click here for the A-Z List of Databases

The A-Z List provides a summary description of each database in the collection. 

 

Individual Databases:

 

Databases by Subject:

 


Search for books at academic libraries across Ohio. Print books can be delivered right to the Hiram College Library and you can request them yourself without having to complete an interlibrary loan form. 

Go Find Your Book

Your search of the online catalog of Books, CDs, and DVDs in the Hiram College Catalog has led you to the following.  How do you find it on the shelf?

 

Author Koritansky, John C.
Title Alexis de Tocqueville and the new science of politics : an interpretation of Democracy in America / John C.Koritansky.
Imprint Durham, N.C. : Carolina Academic Press, c2010.

PermaLink to this record

 
LOCATION CALL # STATUS
 MAIN COLLECTION 320.1 Toc-K 2010    AVAILABLE

 

 

You need 3 pieces of information to find an item here. 

  1. The location tells you which floor in the building. 
  2. The call number tells you where on the floor (in this case it is like a street address). 
  3. The status tells you if it should be on the shelf or not. 

Dewey Decimal Classification

The main Dewey Decimal classes are:

000 Generalities 
100 Philosophy and psychology 
200 Religion 
300 Social Sciences 
400 Language 
500 Natural sciences and mathematics 
600 Technology (Applied sciences) 
700 The arts (fine and decorative) 
800 Literature and rhetoric 
900 Geography and history

Each class is further subdivided at the hundred divisions and the the thousand sections. Numbers are placed after a decimal point to further identify material more specifically by subject.

The following table below will help with the most frequent locations. 

On every entry in the Hiram College Library catalog you will find a section below the Title that looks like this:

LOCATION entry tells you where the item is located physically in the building.

Table of Locations 

Location Call Number Arranged by Floor
Main Collection 0 through 799.99999999 Dewey Call Number 2nd floor
Main Collection 800 through 999.999999 Dewey Call Number 3rd floor
Fiction All call numbers Alphabetically byAuthor 4th floor (Clock Tower)
Music Scores All call numbers Dewey Call Number 2nd floor
CD Collection All call numbers Genre then composer or artist Lower Level Chamberlain Room
Film Collection 0 through 999.9999999 Dewey Call Number Lower Level Chamberlain Room
Film Collection Starts with Feature Film Alphabetically by Title Lower Level Chamberlain Room
Juvenile All call numbers Dewey Call Number 2nd floor
Juvenile Fiction All call numbers Alphabetically by Author 2nd floor
Quarto All call numbers Dewey Call Number 2nd floor
Folio All call numbers Dewey Call Number 2nd floor
Government Documents All call numbers SuDocs system 3rd floor

 

The following table below will help with the most frequent locations. 

On every entry in the Hiram College Library catalog you will find a section below the Title that looks like this:

STATUS entry tells you if it is on the shelf or not and if not, why.

Table of Statuses

Status Meaning
Available Should be on Shelf
Due (followed by a date) Checked out and is due back on date given
Due (followed by a date) Off Campus Checked out to an OhioLINK borrower and due on the date given
New Book Shelf May be found on the New Book Shelf on the main floor and may be checked out.  This is more of a location than a status.
Missing Book cannot be found.  You may borrow a copy through OhioLINK, if a copy is available.
Lib Use Only Should be on the shelf. May not be checked out, but may be used in the library
Use Online An Internet resource that you may use online.  Check the full record for the link to the item

What if the book is checked out?
If a book is checked out, the Library Catalog will indicate when it will be returned. You then have two options. You can wait till the book gets returned to the shelf to check it out. Please be aware that the date that it lists as the return date is dependent upon the current borrower bringing it back. If that person forgets the return date could slide considerably. The other option would be to attempt to find the book through OhioLink/Search Ohio as this may result in a quicker delivery time than waiting for the return of the current book.

What if the book has a link instead of a call number?
The library has some items which which will not be on the shelves but instead available directly by clicking on them. Also Hiram College Library is a Federal Depository Library and may have resources from the Federal Government that are electronic. If you see “Electronic Resource” instead of a call number, click on the title to open the record and then click the link to view the item online.

What if the Library Catalog does not list the book I need?
If the Hiram College Library does not have the book you need, please check through the OhioLink Catalog and/or SearchOhio. Both of these sources can have the titles you need and can be requested simply and easily through the catalog itself. If all else fails you can request the title by using the Inter Library Loan Form. You may also request the book be purchased for the library by emailing the librarians at library@hiram.edu.

Selected Library Resources

Selected Library Resources:

  • A-Z List of Databases provided by the Hiram College Library
  • Hiram College Database Discovery Service (EDS) OneSource search allows a comprehensive search of most (but not all) of our databases, eBooks, and journals.
  • Hiram College Library Journal Search provides listings of our print and online journals and newspapers in one place. Journals with full text access have direct links from here. This page also has a subject listing of our electronic and print journal titles.
  • OhioLINK Catalog allows you to search and request materials from academic libraries across Ohio. These materials are delivered directly to the Hiram College Library.
  • OhioLINK Electronic Journal Center with 32 million journal articles from over 10,000 journals
  • SearchOhio allows you to search and request materials from public libraries across Ohio. These materials are delivered directly to the Hiram College Library.
  • If an item can’t be found any other way, you can request items via Interlibrary Loan.