Library of Congress Subject Headings (LCSH)
The LCSH was developed and is maintained by the U.S. Library of Congress, for the collections of the Library. LCSH, as a controlled vocabulary used for indexing, cataloging, and searching for bibliographic records in library catalogs and electronic databases, has become a de facto standard for libraries who use cataloging records disseminated by the Library of Congress, or who catalog to the standards set collaboratively by the Library of Congress and the library community.
The Library Catalog includes records for books, journals, newspapers, government documents, microforms, DVDs, and audio recordings that are held in the library. The standard catalog does not include journal articles; use OneSource to search books and databases together. Remember: not all databases are included. Our A-Z list of databases and our Journal Finder can help you find more sources.
What Are Subject Terms?
A subject term is a standardized word or phrase that describes a main idea in the book or article. When an item is added to a database, the database will assign subject terms to it from the database's list of subjects. Most entries will have from 3 to 12 subject terms assigned.
How Do I Find Subject Terms?
Start with an author or keyword search and then look at the subjects included with relevant results. You can then use a subject search for more precise results.
Tip: Use a keyword search instead of a whole question. Then narrow down the results with the filters on the side.
Search strategies for finding materials in our Catalog
Keyword Searching
This search looks for matching documents that contain one or more words specified by the you anywhere in the catalog. It is good for finding the largest possible return. However it can also result in materials that have nothing to do with your subject.
Subject Searching
A subject heading is a standardized word or phrase that describes a main idea in the book or article. Every item about that topic uses the same subject term. Think of this like a tag in social media (#RingIT #Terriers #HiramCollege).
In the library catalog, select "Subject" in the drop down box to the left of the search field, then type in the box: Baseball (or, more specialized terms, such as: planetary motion; armadillo diseases; etc.).
The "*" is a truncation symbol that will retrieve various forms of each word, for example, use regulat* to find results like regulation, regulatory, regulators. The "and" will require that both terms appear, but not necessarily in the same phrase.
Title or Author Searches
In the library catalog, choose "Title" to locate a specific work or, choose "Author" to find books written by a particular author.
Material Type (book, eBook, etc.)
Select a material type from the dropdown to limit to a Book (physical item), eBook (digital item), musical recording, map, and more.
Collection:
Select the Collection limiter to reduce your results to a particular part of the library, such as the film collection, juvenile collection, or government documents. Since the Government Documents collection is so large, it can sometimes overwhelm your results. Use the "All Collections Except Gov Docs" limiter to remove them from your search.
Your search of the online catalog of Books, CDs, and DVDs in the Hiram College Library has led you to the following. How do you find it on the shelf? How do you know if it is an eBook or a print book?
|
||||||||||
| LOCATION | CALL # | STATUS | ||||||||
| HIRAM Main Collection | 320.1 Toc-K 2010 | AVAILABLE | ||||||||
Dewey Decimal Classification
The main Dewey Decimal classes are:
000 Generalities
100 Philosophy and psychology
200 Religion
300 Social Sciences
400 Language
500 Natural sciences and mathematics
600 Technology (Applied sciences)
700 The arts (fine and decorative)
800 Literature and rhetoric
900 Geography and history
Each class is further subdivided at the hundred divisions and the thousand sections. Numbers are placed after a decimal point to further identify material more specifically by subject.
The following table below will help with the most frequent locations.
On every entry in the Hiram College Library catalog you will find a section below the Title that looks like this:
LOCATION entry tells you where the item is located physically in the building.
Table of Locations
| Location | Call Number | Arranged by | Floor |
| Main Collection | 0 through 799.99999999 | Dewey Call Number | 2nd floor |
| Main Collection | 800 through 999.999999 | Dewey Call Number | 3rd floor |
| Fiction | Call numbers start with "F" | Alphabetically by Author | 4th floor (Clock Tower) |
| Music Scores | All call numbers | Dewey Call Number | 2nd floor |
| CD Collection | Call numbers start with musical genre | Genre then composer or artist | Lower Level Chamberlain Room |
| Film Collection | 0 through 999.9999999 | Dewey Call Number | Lower Level Chamberlain Room |
| Film Collection | Call numbers start with "Feature Film" | Alphabetically by Title | Lower Level Chamberlain Room |
| Juvenile Nonfiction | 0 through 999.9999999 | Dewey Call Number | 2nd floor |
| Juvenile Fiction | Call numbers start with "JF" | Alphabetically by Author | 2nd floor |
| Picture Books | Call numbers start with "PB" | Alphabetically by Author | 2nd floor |
| Board Books | Call numbers start with "BB" | Alphabetically by Author | 2nd floor |
| Oversize | Call numbers start with a "Q" | Dewey Call Number | 2nd floor |
| Folio | Call numbers start with "Folio" | Dewey Call Number | 2nd floor |
| Government Documents | Call numbers start with an abbreviation of the agency that produced the document | SuDocs system | 3rd floor |
The following table below will help with the most frequent locations.
On every entry in the Hiram College Library catalog you will find a section below the Title that looks like this:
STATUS entry tells you if it is on the shelf or not and if not, why.
Table of Statuses
| Status | Meaning |
| Available | Should be on Shelf. If you cannot find the item, please ask us! |
| Due (followed by a date) | Checked out and is due back on date given. You may borrow a copy through OhioLINK, if a copy is available. |
| Due (followed by a date) Off Campus | Checked out to an OhioLINK borrower and due on the date given. You may borrow a copy through OhioLINK, if a copy is available. |
| New Book Shelf | May be found on the New Book Shelf on the main floor and may be checked out. |
| Missing |
Book cannot be found. You may borrow a copy through OhioLINK, if a copy is available. |
| In Repair | Book is damaged and waiting to be repaired. You may borrow a copy through OhioLINK, if a copy is available. |
| Lib Use Only | Should be on the shelf. May not be checked out, but may be used in the library. |
| Use Online | An Internet resource that you may use online. Check the full record for the link to the item or click "View Online." |
| In Process | The book has been ordered. It may not have arrived yet, or it may be waiting for its labels and stickers before it goes on the shelf. If you have an urgent need for a title "In Process," contact library@hiram.edu with the book's full title and author. |
What if the book is checked out?
What if the book has a link instead of a call number?
If you see “Electronic Resource” or "View Online" instead of a call number, click on the title to open the record and then click the link to view the item.
What if the Library Catalog does not list the book I need?
Please check OhioLink and/or SearchOhio. You can request books yourself with your Hiram College ID, and they will be delivered to our library. If that does not work, fill out the InterLibrary Loan Form or ask us to consider purchasing it for the library by emailing us at library@hiram.edu