Hiram College Library: COMM 48000: Senior Seminar: Article Search Tutorials

Using the Library's Online Resources

Using the Library's Online Resources
Why should you begin your research with the library's homepage? How do I know which database to use? Library staff provide an overview to help you get started using online resources for your research.

Using EBSCOhost Databases

Library staff created videos to help you research using EBSCO databases. Many library's databases are on the EBSCOhost platform, so use these tutorials as a basis for your searching .

What is a database? It's an index of articles (and sometimes books, films, newspapers, etc.). Search a database to return a list of articles on your topic!

Getting Started with EBSCOhost Databases - Academic Search Complete
Library staff demonstrate how to find and begin a search in Academic Search Complete, an EBSCOhost database. Includes how to find full text, limit to peer reviewed sources, saving citations, and more.
Selecting and Using Search Terms - EBSCOhost Tutorial
Library staff demonstrate how to determine keywords and subject search terms to create the best searches for your topic using Academic Search Complete, an EBSCOhost database.
Ways to View Articles from an EBSCO Database
Working with PDFs, articles from OhioLINK, and requesting articles via Interlibrary Loan

Using JSTOR

JSTOR: Tips for Searching
JSTOR has a complete guide to help students search its database. Includes videos!
JSTOR isn't Google: Quick tips on searching JSTOR
This 5 minute video provides a basic overview to searching JSTOR effectively.

Using Nexis Uni

Containing more than 15,000 credible news, legal and business sources, Nexis Uni (formerly known as LexisNexis) includes access to print and online journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs, as well as local, regional, national and international newspapers, legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, business information on U.S. and international companies and executives.

Nexis Uni has a series of tutorial videos to help students learn to use the database.

Nexis Uni Webinar Training Series
Webinar series helping users become familiar with how to use Nexis Uni.
Nexis Uni 10 Minute Training Series
Additional brief training videos designed to highlight popular search methods in Nexis Uni.
Nexis Uni Advanced Training
Additional training videos that focus on using Boolean logic and natural language searches in Nexis Uni.

Advanced Tips

Ready for the next step? The following tutorials and tips are for advanced searchers.

Using Search Alerts in EBSCO Databases
Search Alerts save valuable research time, and can be set up to provide automatic e-mail notification whenever new search results become available. You can also retrieve those alerts to perform the search immediately, instead of waiting for the alert to run.