Hiram College Library: UCS 10101 Course Guide: Course Specific Information

Course Specific Database List

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database that indexes and abstracts some 9,300 periodicals, both popular and scholarly. Provides full-text to more than 5,300 journals.
Art Full Text (1984 - ) This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive resource covering fine, decorative and commercial art, as well as photography, folk art, film, architecture.Content Includes: Full-text articles from more than 300 periodicals dating back to 1995 High-quality indexing and abstracting of over 600 periodicals dating as far back as 1984, including 280 peer-reviewed journals Indexing and abstracting of over 13,000 art dissertations Indexing of nearly 200,000 art reproductions A database-specific thesaurus
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Fully searchable full-text of nearly 1,000 scholarly journals. JSTOR provides back files to the first issue of a journal, but stops 3 to 5 years before the current publication year. Covers all disciplines.
Humanities Full Text This link opens in a new window
Indexes nearly 700 periodicals in the humanities (art, classical studies, dance, film, philosophy, religious studies, and more) with some coverage back to 1910. Full-text is available for more than 330 journals.
International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance This link opens in a new window
Indexes articles, books, book chapters, and dissertations on all aspects of theatre and performance. Coverage goes back to 1984.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database that indexes and abstracts some 9,300 periodicals, both popular and scholarly. Provides full-text to more than 5,300 journals.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
The online version of Psychological Abstracts provides indexing to articles and books chapters published worldwide from 1887 to the present.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text to nearly 500 journals in psychology, psychiatry, and anthropology.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Fully searchable full-text of nearly 1,000 scholarly journals. JSTOR provides back files to the first issue of a journal, but stops 3 to 5 years before the current publication year. Covers all disciplines.
Oxford Research Encyclopedias This link opens in a new window
Articles written, peer-reviewed and edited by scholars covering 25 subjects. Articles, which are being added and updated on a regular basis, help break down broad subjects like International Studies or Neuroscience.

Journal of Happiness Studies
Covers both cognitive evaluations of life & affective enjoyment of life.

Adding Chicago Style Endnotes to Your Word Document on the iPad
This task aid will outline the steps to take to use Chicago Style Endnotes on your iPad. Note: to complete the process, you will need to use a desktop or laptop computer (not the iPad app). Computers for this purpose are available in the Library and the basement of the Kennedy Center
Adding Chicago Style Page Numbers to Your Word Document on the iPad
This task aid will outline the steps to take to use Chicago Style page numbers on your iPad. Note: to complete the process, you will need to use a desktop or laptop computer (not the iPad app). Computers for this purpose are available in the Library and the basement of the Kennedy Center.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database that indexes and abstracts some 9,300 periodicals, both popular and scholarly. Provides full-text to more than 5,300 journals.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
Covers current and controversial social issues from immigration to gun control to fracking. Viewpoint essays present different sides to an issue and the database adds periodical articles, statistics, video/audio, news articles, and primary sources.
Political Science Complete This link opens in a new window
Indexes articles, books, and conference papers in comparative politics, international relations, law and legislation, political theory, and more. Full-text for 550 journals, 340 books, and 38,000 conference papers.
ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
The world’s largest source of education information with more than 1.4 million citations to articles, books, conference papers, policy papers, and other education-related resources. This EBSCO version adds links to the full-text of articles in other EBSCO databases, as well as a Find It link for other citations so you can determine if the Hiram College Library provides access to that article. Also provided are links to the full-text of ERIC documents on the Department of Education’s ERIC Web site.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Fully searchable full-text of nearly 1,000 scholarly journals. JSTOR provides back files to the first issue of a journal, but stops 3 to 5 years before the current publication year. Covers all disciplines.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database that indexes and abstracts some 9,300 periodicals, both popular and scholarly. Provides full-text to more than 5,300 journals.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts some 5,000 business-related publications. Provides full-text to more than 4,000 periodicals. Coverage of important scholarly journals goes back to the first issue (or back to 1886 in the most extreme case). Also includes financial data, industry reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses, market research reports, and more.
Communication and Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Indexes some 400 titles related to the media and communication studies. Nearly 200 of the titles are also available in full-text. Some coverage back as far as 1915.

The following databases are great places to start your research for this class. Note that Academic Search Complete and JSTOR are databases that search for information in all kinds of subjects. Oxford Research Encyclopedias can provide an overview of some topics. The others in the list are specifically designed to focus on articles and information related to your course topics.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database that indexes and abstracts some 9,300 periodicals, both popular and scholarly. Provides full-text to more than 5,300 journals.
Biological and Agricultural Index Plus This link opens in a new window
Indexes some 380 publications (with more than 100 in full-text) related to biology, agriculture, environmental science, genetics, veterinary medicine, and more.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Indexes some 1,800 journals in nursing and allied health, with full text of more than 770 journals. Coverage back to 1982.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Fully searchable full-text of nearly 1,000 scholarly journals. JSTOR provides back files to the first issue of a journal, but stops 3 to 5 years before the current publication year. Covers all disciplines.
Medline (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
The National Library of Medicine’s database of more than 11 million bibliographic citations in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care, and related areas. This EBSCO version adds full-text for a number of journals, as well as a Find It link for other citations so you can determine if the Hiram College Library provides access to that article.
Oxford Research Encyclopedias This link opens in a new window
Articles written, peer-reviewed and edited by scholars covering 25 subjects. Articles, which are being added and updated on a regular basis, help break down broad subjects like International Studies or Neuroscience.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text to nearly 500 journals in psychology, psychiatry, and anthropology.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
The online version of Psychological Abstracts provides indexing to articles and books chapters published worldwide from 1887 to the present.
Science Reference Center This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive research database of full-text resources designed for high school and introduction college science courses. Covers biology, chemistry, earth and space science, environmental science, medicine, physics, and the history of science. Includes periodicals, reference books, images, and videos.

Databases:

Note: You may still want to use other databases. Either try the OneSource search to search multiple databases at once, or branch out into databases with other topics/subjects.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database that indexes and abstracts some 9,300 periodicals, both popular and scholarly. Provides full-text to more than 5,300 journals.
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts articles from more than 1,000 journals related to all aspects of the environment and ecology. Also includes the full-text of some 80 books and the conference papers of the North American Association of Environmental Education.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Indexes the literature (books, journals, magazines, reports, and government documents) on environmental issues. Some coverage goes back to the 1970s with indexing of several journal titles going back even farther.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Fully searchable full-text of nearly 1,000 scholarly journals. JSTOR provides back files to the first issue of a journal, but stops 3 to 5 years before the current publication year. Covers all disciplines.
JSTOR Sustainability This link opens in a new window
Containing 150 journals and some 5000 research reports, this themed collection from JSTOR looks at research and policy on environmental stresses and their impact on society.

Government Resources:

The United States government creates documents and resources to keep the public informed about its activities and provide information and resources. The Hiram College Library is a government document depository library, meaning that we store and provide access to government resources, both in print and online.

Hiram College Library's U. S. Government Documents Collection
Information about accessing U. S. Government Documents via the Federal Library Depository Program.
Environmental Conflict Management Course Guide
This guide includes information specific to the Environmental Conflict Management class. It also contains links and information about government documents that may be useful for this class.

For this course, Academic Search Complete will be a good place to begin.

Use Academic Search complete to find your scholarly article. Remember to think about your keywords, and then limit to Scholarly (peer reviewed) Journals, and change the slider bar to limit the dates to 2015-2020.

You might also find your empirical studies or personal accounts here as well.

Starting with a keyword search can help you locate subjects to refine your search if you have too many results.

Keyword Examples:

College Students
Higher education
accessibility
NOT pathology (using "NOT" before your keyword will tell the system that you do not want it to find articles with that keyword)
review

Use the Advanced Search to select "subject terms" from the dropdown menu to do a subject search instead of a keyword search.

Subject Terms Examples:

Disabilities
Disorders
SPECIFIC DISABILITY - example: "Vision Disorders"
Higher Education

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database that indexes and abstracts some 9,300 periodicals, both popular and scholarly. Provides full-text to more than 5,300 journals.

PsycINFO provides some search limiters that may be helpful when looking for empirical studies, meta analyses, or a literature review.

You can find these in two ways.

Do a standard keyword search. On the left hand side, use the "Refine Results" menu to select Methodology. Place a checkmark next to: empirical study, literature review, and/or meta analysis.
Do an advanced search. Use the dropdown boxes to narrow your searches. Under Methodology, select empirical study, literature review, and meta analysis. Make sure to de-select "all."

PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
The online version of Psychological Abstracts provides indexing to articles and books chapters published worldwide from 1887 to the present.

Other useful databases or resources:

Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text to nearly 500 journals in psychology, psychiatry, and anthropology.

Disability Studies Quarterly
Disability Studies Quarterly (DSQ) is the journal of the Society for Disability Studies (SDS). It is a multidisciplinary and international journal of interest to social scientists, scholars in the humanities, disability rights advocates, creative writers, and others concerned with the issues of people with disabilities. It represents the full range of methods, epistemologies, perspectives, and content that the multidisciplinary field of disability studies embraces. DSQ is committed to developing theoretical and practical knowledge about disability and to promoting the full and equal participation of persons with disabilities in society.

Since you are researching about college campuses, education databases can also be helpful places to look for additional sources.

ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
The world’s largest source of education information with more than 1.4 million citations to articles, books, conference papers, policy papers, and other education-related resources. This EBSCO version adds links to the full-text of articles in other EBSCO databases, as well as a Find It link for other citations so you can determine if the Hiram College Library provides access to that article. Also provided are links to the full-text of ERIC documents on the Department of Education’s ERIC Web site.
Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts more than 1,500 journals covering all levels of education. Also includes full-text of more than 100 books and a number of conference papers.

Professor Pope has given you an excellent list of basic texts, reference books, and source books related to this course. To locate them, start with author or title searches for relevant books on that list using the Hiram College Library catalog.

In addition, the following resources may also help you with your research:

Interdisciplinary Databases:

Interdisciplinary Databases allow you to search one database for multiple subjects. These can be a good starting point for any class.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database that indexes and abstracts some 9,300 periodicals, both popular and scholarly. Provides full-text to more than 5,300 journals.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Fully searchable full-text of nearly 1,000 scholarly journals. JSTOR provides back files to the first issue of a journal, but stops 3 to 5 years before the current publication year. Covers all disciplines.
Very Short Introductions This link opens in a new window
More than 600 e-books from Oxford University Press designed to offer concise and original introductions to a subject. Usually less than 200 pages, they are written by experts for a general audience.
Oxford Research Encyclopedias This link opens in a new window
Articles written, peer-reviewed and edited by scholars covering 25 subjects. Articles, which are being added and updated on a regular basis, help break down broad subjects like International Studies or Neuroscience.

Historical Databases:

These databases focus on world history and/or medieval history and may be helpful for any European or World history class.

Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexes more than 2,000 journals covering the history of the world (except the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life) from 1450 to the present. Also indexes relevant book reviews and dissertations.
ITER: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance This link opens in a new window
A bibliography of books and articles related to all aspects of the Middle Ages and the Renaissance (400-1700) in Europe.
Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index This link opens in a new window
This free to all index covers journal articles, essays in books, and book reviews about women and gender in the Middle Ages.
Bibliography of British and Irish History This link opens in a new window
Provides bibliographic data for books, essays within books, and journal articles on historical writing dealing with the British Isles, and with the British Empire and Commonwealth, for all time periods. Access is limited to 1 user at a time. Please log out and close your browser when you are finished.

Finding Your Novel:

Professor Pope has given you a list of authors who write novels set in medieval times. To find them, use the Hiram College Library catalog and search by the author's last name, followed by their first name.

Remember:

You can also do a keyword search using sometime of subject (person, place, country, or time period) and the word "fiction." (Example: "Eleanor of Aquitaine and fiction")
Check the "Suggested Terms" tab to see the subjects that the book is about. You can use these to broaden your search if you wish.
A book is a novel (not a nonfiction book) if one of its subjects includes the word "Fiction."
You may also use OhioLINK and SearchOhio. Just leave time for the book(s) to arrive and that your library "barcode" is your student ID number.

Other Resources:

The Oxford dictionary of the Middle Ages by edited by Robert E. Bjork
Call Number: OhioLINK book (click title to view & request)
ISBN: 0199574839
Publication Date: 2010

Internet Medieval Sourcebook
A collection of public domain texts about the Medieval World provided by the Fordham University Center for Medieval Studies.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database that indexes and abstracts some 9,300 periodicals, both popular and scholarly. Provides full-text to more than 5,300 journals.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Fully searchable full-text of nearly 1,000 scholarly journals. JSTOR provides back files to the first issue of a journal, but stops 3 to 5 years before the current publication year. Covers all disciplines.
Film and Television Literature Index This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts some 600 periodicals related to film, film writing, and television. Includes reviews.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Indexes articles, books, and dissertations on modern literature, languages, folklore, and linguistics. Coverage goes back to 1926.
19th Century U. S. Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Every article, illustration, and advertisement from cover to cover in hundreds of U.S. newspapers published in the 19th century, including 11 from Ohio.
Early American Newspapers (Series 1 and 7) This link opens in a new window
Full-text from some 900 newspapers covering the years 1690 to 1922. The papers come from 31 states plus the District of Columbia. Series 1 is based on Clarence Brigham’s History and Bibliography of American Newspapers, 1690-1820. Both series are searchable as a single database.
African American Newspapers, 1827-1998. This link opens in a new window
Searchable full-text of some 270 newspapers, including seven from Ohio. Coverage begins Freedom's Journal, the first African American newspaper published in the U.S. in 1827.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database that indexes and abstracts some 9,300 periodicals, both popular and scholarly. Provides full-text to more than 5,300 journals.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
The online version of Psychological Abstracts provides indexing to articles and books chapters published worldwide from 1887 to the present.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text to nearly 500 journals in psychology, psychiatry, and anthropology.

Journal of Happiness Studies
Covers both cognitive evaluations of life & affective enjoyment of life.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Fully searchable full-text of nearly 1,000 scholarly journals. JSTOR provides back files to the first issue of a journal, but stops 3 to 5 years before the current publication year. Covers all disciplines.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database that indexes and abstracts some 9,300 periodicals, both popular and scholarly. Provides full-text to more than 5,300 journals.
Communication and Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Indexes some 400 titles related to the media and communication studies. Nearly 200 of the titles are also available in full-text. Some coverage back as far as 1915.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts some 5,000 business-related publications. Provides full-text to more than 4,000 periodicals. Coverage of important scholarly journals goes back to the first issue (or back to 1886 in the most extreme case). Also includes financial data, industry reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses, market research reports, and more.

I have an APA citation - now what?

If you already have a citation from a bibliography or other source, you have everything you need to find the book, book chapter, or article if the library owns it!

Identify whether you have a book or a journal article citation:
- For APA citations, a book citation includes the name of the publisher: Stoneman, R. (2008). Alexander the Great: A life in legend. Yale University Press. In this example, the publisher is Yale University Press (shown in red).
- A chapter or article within a book may look similar to an article citation, but it will include a publisher and will say that the article is "in" a book: Armstrong, D. (2019). Malory and character. In M. G. Leitch & C. J. Rushton (Eds.), A new companion to Malory (pp. 144-163). D. S. Brewer. Here "In" and the publisher, D. S. Brewer, are highlighted in red.
- An article citation, there will be no publisher listed, and there will be a volume and issue number for the journal: Scruton, R. (1996). The eclipse of listening. The New Criterion, 15(3), 5–13.
Once you identify what type of citation you have, then identify the information you need to find it.
- For a book citation, identify the title of the book.
  Example citation 1: Stoneman, R. (2008). Alexander the Great: A life in legend. Yale University Press.
  In the example above, Alexander the Great: A life in legend is the title of the book.
  Example citation 2: Armstrong, D. (2019). Malory and character. In M. G. Leitch & C. J. Rushton (Eds.), A new companion to Malory (pp. 144-163). D. S. Brewer.
  In the example above, A new companion to Malory is the title of the book. Malory and character is the title of the chapter or article within the book.
- For a journal citation, identify the title of the journal or the title of the article.
  Example citation: Scruton, R. (1996). The eclipse of listening. The New Criterion, 15(3), 5–13.
  In the example above, The New Criterion is the title of the journal. The eclipse of listening is the article title.
Find your material:
- Book: Use the Hiram College Library catalog to see whether we own the book. If we do not, you can check the OhioLINK catalog to see if they own it. If you are looking for a portion of the book as in Example 2, then check the page numbers in the citation. Use them to locate the chapter or article within the book (in this case, pages 144-163).
- Journal Article by Journal Title:
  Use the Hiram College "Finding Journals" search to find journals by title. Then use the year, volume, and page number to narrow down your search.
  Remember to save the link to the article by using a "Permalink."
- Journal Article by Article Title:
  Use OneSource to search for articles by article title.
  Verify that the information is correct, and view the article if it is available, or request it via Interlibrary Loan if it is not.
  Remember to save the link to the article by using a "Permalink."

Need a little more practice identifying the parts of a citation? The Virginia Tech University Libraries Citation Tutorial can help!

Examining APA Citations (7th ed.)
An interactive tutorial that examines the elements of APA citations. Includes a brief quiz and resources for further exploration. Presented by the Virginia Tech Libraries.

UCS 10101 Course Guide