Step 2. Find Articles & Videos - UCS 20201 Jackson - Create an Inclusive Society

Tip: Use a keyword search instead of a whole question. Then narrow down the results with the filters on the side.

Find a Specific Journal

News Sources

Looking for news? We've got you covered. From current events to business, sports, and historical news, explore our collection of reliable resources.

Click here to stay informed!

A-Z List of Databases
Search by subject, type, or name

Heads up! OhioLINK Print Lending Freeze

Starting May 23, 2025, the OhioLINK request button will disappear for 4 - 6 weeks as lending of print books from Ohio's academic libraries will be paused. Plan ahead - request books for Summer & Fall terms early this Spring! For more details, click here.

Ohio Academic Libraries
Borrow books from academic libraries across Ohio and pick up at Hiram College Library with OhioLINK!
Ohio Public Libraries
Borrow from public libraries across Ohio and pick up at Hiram College Library with SearchOhio!

What types of materials can I borrow through SearchOhio and OhioLINK? You can request print materials, audiobooks, music, movies and other formats.
How long before I receive my requested material? Most arrive within a week, but it depends on their availability. You’ll be notified by email when they arrive.
How do I return items? Drop them off at Hiram Library!
Are there different rules for borrowing? Yes. Items have different loan periods, renewal limits, daily fine rates and replacement costs than the items you borrow from Hiram College Library.

🍎 Disability Studies Resources

Disability in the Modern World: History of a Social Movement.
Includes books, book chapters, articles, essays, and video, along with other primary sources. Covers issues such as accessibility, advocacy, rights, education, legislation and politics, technology, and more.

Journals on Disabilities
Scroll through the journal titles, explore different topics, and even flip through virtual pages—just like a real magazine! It’s a great way to discover new ideas and research.
Disability Catalog Search
This is a very simple search of the Hiram Catalog for books about "disability" from 2019 to 2025. You can try a search with your own keywords to see what else we have!

Featured Databases

Some databases are great for general research because they cover many topics, from business to history. Start with these to practice searching, then explore subject-specific databases in future courses!

Academic Search Complete
Multidisciplinary database that indexes and abstracts some 9,300 periodicals, both popular and scholarly. Provides full-text to more than 5,300 journals.
JSTOR
🍎 Fully searchable full-text of nearly 1,000 scholarly journals. JSTOR provides back files to the first issue of a journal, but stops 3 to 5 years before the current publication year. Covers all disciplines.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context
🍎 Covers current and controversial social issues from immigration to gun control to fracking. Try the TOPIC FINDER tool. Viewpoint essays present different sides to an issue and the database adds periodical articles, statistics, video/audio, news articles, and primary sources.
Oxford Research Encyclopedias
Articles written, peer-reviewed and edited by scholars covering 25 subjects. Articles, which are being added and updated on a regular basis, help break down broad subjects like International Studies or Neuroscience.

How To Find Articles

Databases collect and organize different types of information—just like Netflix organizes movies or Spotify sorts music.

Using Filters to Narrow Results

Skip ahead to 1:55 to learn how to find Peer Reviewed articles.

Mining Sources

Once you find a great article, check its sources! The reference list can lead you to other useful books and articles on your topic.

Advanced Search Strategies

The words “AND,” “OR,” and “NOT” help make your search more specific.

For example, if you search for 'films AND psychology NOT children', you’ll get results that include both "films" and "psychology" but exclude anything about "children." This is great if you want to focus on how psychology is shown in films about teens, not kids.

UCS 20201 Jackson - Create an Inclusive Society

OneSource searches multiple resources at once!