Finding Books - FYEN 10101.03 What is a Relationship? - Yu - Hiram College Library at Hiram College

Search The Hiram College Library Catalog

The Library Catalog includes records for books, journals, newspapers, government documents, microforms, DVDs, and audio recordings that are held in the library. The standard catalog does not include journal articles; use OneSource to search books and databases together and find journal articles. Remember: not all databases are included. Our A-Z list of databases and our Journal Finder can help you find more sources.

What Are Subject Terms?

A subject term is a standardized word or phrase that describes a main idea in the book or article. When an item is added to a database, the database will assign subject terms to it from the database's list of subjects. Most entries will have from 3 to 12 subject terms assigned.

Subject Terms Relevant for This Class:

Start with an author or keyword search and then look at the subjects included with relevant results. You can then use a subject search for more precise results.

Keyword vs Subject Searching

Start Your Search Here

Advanced Search

Tip: Use a keyword search instead of a whole question. Then narrow down the results with the filters on the side.

Find a Specific Journal

Browse Journals by Subject

News Sources

Looking for news? We've got you covered. From current events to business, sports, and historical news, explore our collection of reliable resources.

Click here to stay informed!

A-Z List of Databases
Search by subject, type, or name

Heads up! OhioLINK Print Lending Freeze

Starting May 23, 2025, the OhioLINK request button will disappear for 4 - 6 weeks as lending of print books from Ohio's academic libraries will be paused. Plan ahead - request books for Summer & Fall terms early this Spring! For more details, click here.

Ohio Academic Libraries
Borrow books from academic libraries across Ohio and pick up at Hiram College Library with OhioLINK!
Ohio Public Libraries
Borrow from public libraries across Ohio and pick up at Hiram College Library with SearchOhio!

What types of materials can I borrow through SearchOhio and OhioLINK? You can request print materials, audiobooks, music, movies and other formats.
How long before I receive my requested material? Most arrive within a week, but it depends on their availability. You’ll be notified by email when they arrive.
How do I return items? Drop them off at Hiram Library!
Are there different rules for borrowing? Yes. Items have different loan periods, renewal limits, daily fine rates and replacement costs than the items you borrow from Hiram College Library.

Selected Books

The Boys in the Boat by Daniel James Brown
Call Number: OhioLINK
ISBN: 0143125478
Publication Date: 2014-05-27
Out of the depths of the Depression comes an irresistible story about beating the odds and finding hope in the most desperate of times - the improbable, intimate account of how nine working-class boys from the American West showed the world at the 1936 Olympics in Berlin what true grit really meant. ... Brown has created an unforgettable portrait of an era, a celebration of a remarkable achievement, and a chronicle of one extraordinary young man's personal quest
Alone Together by Sherry Turkle
Call Number: 303.4833 Tur 2011
ISBN: 0465010210
Publication Date: 2011-01-11
In "Alone Together," MIT technology and society professor Sherry Turkle explores the power of our new tools and toys to dramatically alter our social lives. It's a nuanced exploration of what we are looking for--and sacrificing--in a world of electronic companions and social networking tools, and an argument that, despite the hand-waving of today's self-described prophets of the future, it will be the next generation who will chart the path between isolation and connectivity.
Making Connections by Kathleen M. Galvin
Call Number: OhioLINK
ISBN: 0199733813
Publication Date: 2010-05-14
Making Connections: Readings in Relational Communication, Fifth Edition, is a unique collection of readings that provides a balanced, timely, and challenging set of perspectives on relational communication. Edited by Kathleen M. Galvin, the volume includes diverse selections from the recent work of top communication scholars and teachers, offering a balance between humanistic and social-science perspectives. Each reading exposes students to the latest developments in the ever-changing field of interpersonal communication.
They Say / I Say by Cathy Birkenstein; Gerald Graff
Call Number: 808.042 G736t 2010
ISBN: 9780393631678
Publication Date: 2018-06-11
They Say / I Say has essentially defined academic writing, identifying its key rhetorical moves, the most important of which is to summarize what others have said to set up one's own argument. The book also provides templates to help students make these key moves in their own writing.
The Elements of Library Research by Mary W. George
Call Number: E-book
ISBN: 9780691138572
Publication Date: 2008-08-31
To do solid academic research, college students need to look beyond the computer search engine. This short, practical book introduces students to the important components of the information-seeking process. The Elements of Library Research provides a foundation for success in any research assignment, from a freshman paper to a senior thesis.

Selected Library Resources

Selected Library Resources:

A-Z List of Databases provided by the Hiram College Library
Hiram College Database Discovery Service (EDS) OneSource search allows a comprehensive search of most (but not all) of our databases, eBooks, and journals.
Hiram College Library Journal Search provides listings of our print and online journals and newspapers in one place. Journals with full text access have direct links from here. This page also has a subject listing of our electronic and print journal titles.
OhioLINK Catalog allows you to search and request materials from academic libraries across Ohio. These materials are delivered directly to the Hiram College Library.
OhioLINK Electronic Journal Center with 32 million journal articles from over 10,000 journals
SearchOhio allows you to search and request materials from public libraries across Ohio. These materials are delivered directly to the Hiram College Library.
If an item can’t be found any other way, you can request items via Interlibrary Loan.

Hathi Trust Digital Library
Many pre-1923 imprints are available in full text here which you can download.

Academic Search Complete
Multidisciplinary database that indexes and abstracts some 9,300 periodicals, both popular and scholarly. Provides full-text to more than 5,300 journals.
Access World News Research Collection
Research diverse perspectives, topics and trends that align with curricular areas such as Political Science, English, Sociology, Humanities, Business, International Studies and more. Features reliable, credible information from a wide variety of international, national, and local news sources including the Akron Beacon Journal, Plain Dealer, Record-Courier, and USA Today. Available remotely 24/7 on any device.
Oxford Research Encyclopedias
Articles written, peer-reviewed and edited by scholars covering 25 subjects. Articles, which are being added and updated on a regular basis, help break down broad subjects like International Studies or Neuroscience.
Oxford Scholarship Online
Offers access to thousands of academic monographs, in 19 subject areas across the humanities, social sciences, sciences, medicine, and law.

FYEN 10101.03 What is a Relationship? - Yu

LCSH