Hiram College Library: Resources for YOU: Resources & Support

Library Resources

The library maintains a collection of books and other resources for students seeking help. However, these should be used in conjunction with services provided by the Health Center.

Books:

The library has a large collection of books about a variety of topics, including pleasure reading. If you do not see a topic here, we are happy to help you find the material you need. Just ask!
The books listed here are available as unlimited access eBooks unless otherwise noted.

The Anxiety First Aid Kit by Rick Hanson; Matthew McKay; Martha Davis; Elizabeth Robbins Eshelman; Martin N. Seif; Sally M. Winston; David A. Carbonell; Catherine M. Pittman; Elizabeth M. Karle
Call Number: eBook (click title to read)
ISBN: 9781684038480
Publication Date: 2020-08-01
If you're feeling unprecedented levels of stress and anxiety right now, please know that you aren't alone. In these extreme and uncertain times, it's natural to be in a constant state of mental and physical strain. Whether you're dealing with job loss, a sick loved one, or just feeling the weight of the world during your 2 a.m. doomscroll--you need quick tools you can use right now, whenever and wherever you are, to lower stress and soothe anxiety. This emergency kit has you covered. You'll find easy and doable ways to help you press pause on panic, and find your calm spot right away. You'll discover in-the-moment interventions to help you relax before your anxiety and stress go into overdrive. And finally, you'll learn how to make healthy and workable lifestyle changes to improve your mental health and increase resilience, so you can effectively deal with stressful situations in the future--no matter what life throws at you.
The Anxious Thoughts Workbook by David A. Clark; Judith S. Beck (Foreword by)
Call Number: eBook (click title to read)
ISBN: 9781626258426
Publication Date: 2018-03-01
Are your thoughts getting in the way of living your life? Based in cutting-edge neuroscience and cognitive behavioral therapy (CBT), this workbook will help you regain control from unwanted thoughts and get back to the things that matter.
Healthy Habits Suck by Dayna Lee-Baggley; Russ Harris (Foreword by)
Call Number: eBook (click title to read)
ISBN: 9781684033331
Publication Date: 2019-07-01
Salad instead of steak? Exercise? Skipping that second beer or glass of wine? Healthy habits are the worst. Blending humor and irreverence with the science of behavior change, a health psychologist and runner who's never experienced a ""runner's high"" offers practical, counterintuitive strategies and a playful approach to help readers live a healthier life--even if they really want to just sit on the couch and eat ice cream.
The Body Is Not an Apology by Sonya Renee Taylor
Call Number: eBook (click title to read)
ISBN: 9781626569768
Publication Date: 2018-02-13
Note: If prompted to create a trial account to read this book, decline, and visit Safari eBooks. At the welcome page, in the “select your institution” drop-down, select "Not listed? Click here.", enter your hiram.edu email address and click "Let's Go".
Against a global backdrop of war, social upheaval, and personal despair, there is a growing sense of urgency to challenge the systems of oppression that dehumanize bodies and strip us of our shared humanity. Rather than feel helpless in the face of oppression, world-renowned activist, performance poet, and author Sonya Renee Taylor teaches us how to turn to the power of radical self-love in her new book, The Body Is Not an Apology. Radical self-love is the guiding framework that transforms the learned self-hatred of our bodies and the prejudices we have about other people's bodies into a vision of compassion, equity, and justice. In a revolutionary departure from the corporate self-help and body-positivity movement, Taylor forges the inextricable bond between radical self-love and social justice.
Your Body Is Not an Apology Workbook by Sonya Renee Taylor
Call Number: eBook (click title to read)
ISBN: 9781523091188
Publication Date: 2021-03-16
Note: If prompted to create a trial account to read this book, decline, and visit Safari eBooks. At the welcome page, in the “select your institution” drop-down, select "Not listed? Click here.", enter your hiram.edu email address and click "Let's Go".
Based on the New York Times bestseller The Body Is Not an Apology, this is an action guide to help readers practice the art of radical self-love both for themselves and to transform our society. After crowdsourcing her community, Sonya Renee Taylor found her readers wanted more concrete ideas on how to apply this work in their everyday lives. Your Body Is Not an Apology Workbook is the action guide that gives them tools and structured frameworks they can begin using immediately to deepen their radical self-love journey--such as Taylor's four pillars of practice, which help readers dismantle body shame and give them access to a lifestyle rooted in love.

Campus NatureRX College Guide
This guide, produced by Cornell University, provides tips for getting outside, and explains why it's important to explore nature in a variety of ways.

Magazines

The library subscribes to print and digital magazines, not just scholarly journals.

Mindful Magazine (online)
A magazine to help us all live more mindfully.

Scholarly Articles

Databases, such as PsycINFO offer scholarly articles on mental health topics. Databases are not always easy to use, so feel free to ask a librarian for assistance with searching.

PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
The online version of Psychological Abstracts provides indexing to articles and books chapters published worldwide from 1887 to the present.
Consumer Health Complete This link opens in a new window
Designed to support the information needs of patients with the full-text of reference books, evidence-based health reports, images, videos, and more.
Health Source: Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window
Full-text of some 200 consumer-oriented health periodicals covering topics such as AIDS, cancer, diabetes, aging, and nutrition. Also includes the full-text of nearly 1,200 pamphlets, 20 reference books, and 7,000 Clinical Reference Systems reports.

Games

The library has a large selection of board, card, and tabletop games for checkout. Find the games on the first floor behind the What's New Shelf! All games can be checked out for 7 days and renewed 3 times. Titles include Dune, Fluxx, Carcassonne, Sorry, and Scrabble.

Library Spaces

The Interfaith Meditation and Prayer Room sponsored by Student Senate is on the library's first floor behind the blue felt divider. (Turn left after the Ask Here Desk, and the room will be on your right.) This is the perfect space to rest, meditate, or pray.

The library has a number of study rooms available first-come, first-served that can also serve as relaxation spaces should you need a quiet spot in the midst of the hustle and bustle of campus. Additionally, there are relaxation zones on the second floor (follow the curved wall around to your left when exiting the elevator) and one on the 3rd floor (go down the first row of shelves to your left when exiting the elevator) with a Buddha Board and two daylight lamps. These spaces are designed to offer you a respite while on campus.

The library's collaborative spaces on the first floor also have AppleTVs. Play some relaxing music, put up a soothing background, or just get together with friends to watch something or work collaboratively.