Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
OER Search Tool
Openly Available Sources Integrated Search (OASIS) is a search tool that aims to make the discovery of open content easier. OASIS currently searches open content from 98 different sources.
Open Textbooks Collections
Open textbooks are free, online learning materials with Creative Commons licenses. Many of the collections will have links to the same books, but each will have a particular focus, and items you can't find in other collections.
Open Textbook Library
Collection of openly-licensed textbooks that been reviewed by faculty from a variety of colleges and universities to assess their quality. The Open Textbook Library is supported by the University of Minnesota Center for Open Education and the Open Education Network.
OpenStax is a nonprofit educational initiative based at Rice University that publishes high-quality, peer-reviewed, openly licensed college textbooks that are absolutely free online and low cost in print.
This indexes all of the OERs produced by universities that use the Pressbooks platform, which includes nearly 3,000 titles.
B.C. Open Textbook
Collection of open textbooks for a variety of subjects and specialties from the B.C. Campus OpenEd. The open textbooks have been reviewed by faculty, meet accessibility requirements, and/or include ancillary materials (quizzes, test banks, slides, videos, etc.).
A non-commercial open textbook organization initiated at the University of California, Davis. Their collection is used across the nation as primary course textbooks and as supplemental learning resources.
Open Textbooks at Milne Library (SUNY)
An open-access textbook publishing initiative established by State University of New York libraries and supported by SUNY Innovative Instruction Technology Grants. They publish high-quality, cost-effective course resources by engaging faculty as authors and peer-reviewers, and libraries as publishing service and infrastructure.
eCampus Ontario Open Library
Provides educators and learners with access to more than 250 free and openly-licensed educational resources. The library was launched in 2017 in partnership with BCCampus.
Cleveland State University OER Books
A small set of materials developed by Cleveland State University Faculty.
OhioLINK Affordable Learning Initiative
Affordable Learning Ohio is OhioLINK's effort to reduce the cost of course materials for higher education students in the state of Ohio.
A-Z Affordable Learning Database List
OhioLINK compiled list of resources for affordable learning materials to use in the classroom. These materials are Open Access, Open Educational, and OhioLINK licensed resources that are no cost to Ohio higher education students. The list is updated over time to include new resources.
OER repositories contain more than just open textbooks. Learning materials in these collections include full courses, syllabi, images, presentations, videos, simulations, and many more.
A digital public library and collaboration platform launched by the Institute for the Study of Knowledge Management in Education (ISKME). OER Commons allows searching by material types, educational or grade levels, and subject disciplines.
The Multimedia Educational Resource for Learning and Online Teaching (MERLOT) provides access to curated online learning and support materials and content creation tools, led by an international community of educators, learners and researchers.
Open Course Library
A collection of expertly developed educational materials – including textbooks, syllabi, course activities, readings, and assessments – for 81 high-enrollment college courses. This collection was developed by the Washington State Colleges.
The Teaching Commons brings together high-quality OER from leading colleges and universities. Curated by librarians and their institutions, the Teaching Commons includes open access textbooks, course materials, lesson plans, multimedia, and more.
Open Mason Metafinder
George Mason University's OER Metafinder performs a simultaneous search across 23 different sources of open educational materials. Because it is a real-time, federated search, it can take a bit longer than searches of pre-indexed, curated content. Additional results will continue to trickle in as the search continues running and you begin examining your results.
Center for Open Educational Resources and Language Learning
The Center for Open Educational Resources & Language Learning (COERLL) is one of 16 National Foreign Language Resource Centers (LRC's) funded by the U.S. Department of Education. Its mission is to produce and disseminate OER for the public.
Expertly compiled from Noba modules to fit the scope and sequence of common courses. Use them as-is or customize them to fit your needs. Instructor manual, PowerPoint presentations, and test bank available for many modules. Primarily Psychology resources.
PhET Interactive Simulations
PhET Interactive Simulations project at the University of Colorado Boulder creates free interactive math and science simulations. PhET sims are based on extensive education research and engage students through an intuitive, game-like environment where students learn through exploration and discovery.
Finding Images and Photos
The sources listed here have images and photos that can be downloaded for free with no or limited restrictions.
Creative Commons Image Search
CC Search is a tool that allows openly licensed and public domain works searches across more than 300 million images from open APIs and the Common Crawl dataset. Aggregates results across multiple public repositories into a single catalog, facilitates reuse through features like machine-generated tags and one-click attribution.
The Gender Spectrum Collection
A stock photo library featuring images of trans and non-binary models that go beyond the clichés.
Beautiful, high-resolution photos of black and brown people.
Provides high quality and completely free stock photos. No attribution required.
A coop of stock image photography featuring images of people of color.
Provides royalty free photos and videos. Pictures are shared as part of the public domain with people all over the world.
Millions of free high-resolution images created by the world’s most generous community of photographers.
Free photos of women of color working in technology.