Management Databases - MGMT 28000 Philanthropy & Nonprofit Management - Clevenger

Overview

This Management Databases tab lists management related resources, presenting scholarly journals, trade publications, company information, and industry information. If the management resources and specialized resources sections bring back too few results, expand your search with the general resources section.

Databases are online indexes of journal articles and abstracts. Many include full-text journal articles. Some databases also contain book chapters, newspaper/magazine articles, citations for books, and more.

In plain English, a database is what you would use to find articles, and this section has databases specific to the topic of Management!

Management - Start Here

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database that indexes and abstracts some 9,300 periodicals, both popular and scholarly. Provides full-text to more than 5,300 journals.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts some 5,000 business-related publications. Provides full-text to more than 4,000 periodicals. Coverage of important scholarly journals goes back to the first issue (or back to 1886 in the most extreme case). Also includes financial data, industry reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses, market research reports, and more.

Once in Business Source Complete, click on "Company Information" in the blue ribbon at the very top of the screen to allow you to search for company profiles using limiters such as size, number of employees, and location.

Selected Nonprofit Journals

You can use any of the library's databases to search for articles by subject, keyword or title. However, you can also browse journals if you just want to see the latest news. Most of these journals are available by searching the library's journal finder. Just type in the title to search and then select "Full Text Access" to read it.

Nonprofit and Voluntary Sector Quarterly
Journal of Public and Nonprofit Affairs
Nonprofit Management
The Nonprofit Times
Board Leadership
International Journal of Nonprofit and Voluntary Sector Marketing
International Review on Public and Nonprofit Marketing
Journal of Nonprofit & Public Sector Marketing
Journal of Nonprofit Education and Leadership
Nonprofit Management & Leadership
Voluntas: International Journal of Voluntary and Nonprofit Organizations
Journal of Philanthropy and Marketing
Foundation Review
International Journal of Volunteer Administration
Nonprofit Quarterly
National Civic Review
Philanthropy Magazine
Philanthropy Matters
Philanthropy Journal
Third Sector
Stanford Social Innovation Review

Management - Specialized Resources

IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
The United States' most comprehensive collection of Industry Market Research and Industry Risk Ratings
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Containing more than 15,000 credible news, legal and business sources, Nexis Uni includes access to print and online journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs, as well as local, regional, national and international newspapers, legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, business information on U.S. and international companies and executives.
Value Line Research Center This link opens in a new window
Full-text of the print Value Line Investment Survey, plus six other Value Line publications covering stocks, mutual funds, daily options, and convertibles.
Entrepreneurial Studies Source This link opens in a new window
Indexes periodicals, books, case studies, videos, and company profiles on topics related to entrepreneurship and small business.
Business Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexes nearly 900 publications (with more than 450 in full-text) on all aspects of business from accounting to technology. Coverage back to 1981.

USA Trade Online
Covers STAT-USA and the Foreign Trade Division of the U.S. Census Bureau data.
Contains monthly information on U.S. imports and exports on more than 18,000 commodities.
more...less...
Freely accessible database.

SBRnet (Sports Business Research Network) This link opens in a new window
One of the most comprehensive sports business information sources. Information includes Sports Participation Trends; Sporting goods market trends and statistics; Sports venue data, including sales and revenues for college and professional sports venues; Sports Fan reports; and Organization directories.

General Resources

These databases contain broad subject coverage which applies to many disciplines. You may find useful information within these sources.

Oxford Research Encyclopedias This link opens in a new window
Articles written, peer-reviewed and edited by scholars covering 25 subjects. Articles, which are being added and updated on a regular basis, help break down broad subjects like International Studies or Neuroscience.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database that indexes and abstracts some 9,300 periodicals, both popular and scholarly. Provides full-text to more than 5,300 journals.
Communication and Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Indexes some 400 titles related to the media and communication studies. Nearly 200 of the titles are also available in full-text. Some coverage back as far as 1915.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
Covers current and controversial social issues from immigration to gun control to fracking. Viewpoint essays present different sides to an issue and the database adds periodical articles, statistics, video/audio, news articles, and primary sources.