Research Process - MGMT 28000 Philanthropy & Nonprofit Management - Clevenger

Subject Guide

Janet Vogel

Email Me

Contact:

Director, Hiram College Library
11694 Hayden Street, P.O. Box 67
Hiram, OH 44234

(330) 569-5353

Process

Determine your topic, then follow a process which makes sense to you for gathering relevant information.
Gather current events information about your company / example.
Explore academic journals and trade publications for information about your organizational behavior(s).
Search for related current events and news-based items related to your topic. Synthesize.

Explore Scholarly Sources (Databases)

Explore the scholarly literature about your topic. Use Oxford Research Encyclopedias to find an overview of your topic.

Oxford Research Encyclopedias This link opens in a new window
Articles written, peer-reviewed and edited by scholars covering 25 subjects. Articles, which are being added and updated on a regular basis, help break down broad subjects like International Studies or Neuroscience.
Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
The standard historical dictionary of the English language, the second edition lists more than one million words.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
Covers current and controversial social issues from immigration to gun control to fracking. Viewpoint essays present different sides to an issue and the database adds periodical articles, statistics, video/audio, news articles, and primary sources.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database that indexes and abstracts some 9,300 periodicals, both popular and scholarly. Provides full-text to more than 5,300 journals.

Academic Search Complete is an EBSCOhost database

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts some 5,000 business-related publications. Provides full-text to more than 4,000 periodicals. Coverage of important scholarly journals goes back to the first issue (or back to 1886 in the most extreme case). Also includes financial data, industry reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses, market research reports, and more.
Communication and Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Indexes some 400 titles related to the media and communication studies. Nearly 200 of the titles are also available in full-text. Some coverage back as far as 1915.

Popular Press

Search Popular Press / News / Media sources for topics.

Hiram College Library's Newspaper Subscriptions
The Hiram College Library subscribes to a number of print and online newspapers. This page highlights what we have and how to find them.

Access World News Research Collection This link opens in a new window
Research diverse perspectives, topics and trends that align with curricular areas such as Political Science, English, Sociology, Humanities, Business, International Studies and more. Features reliable, credible information from a wide variety of international, national, and local news sources including the Akron Beacon Journal, Plain Dealer, Record-Courier, and USA Today. Available remotely 24/7 on any device.
New York Times This link opens in a new window
The New York Times contains every article, fully searchable, published in the New York Times since 1851. First, set up an account (instructions here). Then just connect to nytimes.com and login. Or, once you have your account set up, download the NYTimes app from the app store. For more information on setting up an account and using the iPad app, see the New York Times Subject Guide.
http://www.nytimes.com/

Google News
Freely available aggregation of news sources.
Yahoo! News
Freely available aggregation of popular news sources.

Research Note

Note that Google News will have up-to-the-minute news and events information; but, you should carefully evaluate the sources you find and check some of the resources discussed above for confirmation and additional background. Google Scholar is another source you might use to narrow your topic; if you use Google Scholar from on-campus you will automatically have access to library resources when they are available in your results set. If you use Google Scholar from off-campus, use this link that will ask you to login with your Hiram credentials.