If prompted for a library barcode to access library materials, use your student ID number (found on the front of your ID card).
The first time you check out materials, student staff will register the barcode that is on the back of your ID card. You can then use either that number (with no spaces) or your student ID number when prompted for a barcode.
If you have any questions or if there is a problem with your account, please email library@hiram.edu with your name, Hiram Student ID number (on the front of your ID), and the number on the barcode on the back of your ID. We will update your account within 1 business day.
Our catalog lists books (including eBooks), CDs, DVDs, journal titles (but not individual articles within journals), government documents, and microforms. If you are not sure how to search for materials in the catalog, see the Search Strategies below or contact us.
Need to know how to find it on the shelf? Try this: Track Down Your Book .
Didn’t find anything useful? Try the OhioLINK catalog. And don’t forget the SearchOhio link on the OhioLINK catalog as a way to expand your search. Remember that OneSource searches everything the library has access to.
Need to find still more? Try WorldCat and/or Google Books.
Search strategies for finding materials in our Catalog
Keyword Searching
This search looks for matching documents that contain one or more words specified by the you anywhere in the catalog. It is good for finding the largest possible return. However it can also result in materials that have nothing to do with your subject.
Subject Searching
In the library catalog, select "Subject" in the drop down box to the left of the search field, then type in the box: Baseball (or, more specialized terms, such as: planetary motion; armadillo diseases; etc.).
The "*" is a truncation symbol that will retrieve various forms of each word, for example, use regulat* to find results like regulation, regulatory, regulators. The "and" will require that both terms appear, but not necessarily in the same phrase.
Title or Author Searches
In the library catalog, choose "Title" to locate a specific work or, choose "Author" to find books written by a particular author.
Material Type (book, eBook, etc.)
Select a material type from the dropdown to limit to a Book (physical item), eBook (digital item), musical recording, map, and more.
Collection:
Select the Collection limiter to reduce your results to a particular part of the library, such as the film collection, juvenile collection, or government documents. Since the Government Documents collection is so large, it can sometimes overwhelm your results. Use the "All Collections Except Gov Docs" limiter to remove them from your search.
OneSource is a way to search the Hiram College Library catalog, the OhioLINK catalog, and many of the library’s databases with a single search. OneSource employs a single search box, much like Google, to search multiple resources. OneSource may miss the most recent entries in a database, especially the Hiram College Library catalog.
Since terminology tends to vary across different disciplines, most researchers use a keyword search when using a resource like OneSource. While a keyword search will return a large number of varying results (like Google), you can limit these results after it’s completed using the filter options on the left hand side of the page. Happy searching!
Please contact library staff for help with narrowing your search to find the materials you want.
Go to the Database A-Z List to sort databases by subject and other categories and see full descriptions of each database.
A library database is a searchable electronic index of published, reliable resources. Databases provide access to a wealth of useful research materials from academic journals, newspapers, and magazines. While there are some databases that are good for general research inquiries, many databases are subject specific, providing targeted information in selected areas of research. Some databases also include e-books, relevant Web resources, and various multimedia.
Library databases are different from internet sources. To access the databases provided by the Hiram College Library, you'll need to either be on campus on the Hiram College network, or you'll need to sign in when accessing from off campus.
If you know the database you're looking for, jump directly to it from the list here:
Use this search bar to look for databases by keyword:
Here is a list of the most commonly used databases in Hiram's collection:
Please Note:
You do not need to submit an interlibrary loan request to have a book from OhioLINK sent to the Hiram College Library. You can request materials on your own with your library barcode number. For help with requesting a book through OhioLINK, please contact our staff:
Materials take 3 to 5 business days (or sometimes longer) to arrive.
You will be notified by email when your materials arrive.
Books not picked up after 10 days are automatically returned.
Requests are blocked if:
You can check the status of your requests by checking your library account.
You do not need to submit an interlibrary loan request to have a book from SearchOhio sent to the Hiram College Library. You can request materials on your own with your library barcode number. For help with requesting a book through SearchOhio, please contact our staff:
You will be prompted to login to the EJC when accessing from off campus. See Connecting from Off Campus for help with logging in.
The OhioLINK Electronic Book Center (EBC) contains more than 125,000 e-book titles, covering numerous subjects, and includes scholarly monographs, encyclopedias, dictionaries and other reference works. Most e-books are permanently owned by OhioLINK. Content is funded through a combination of member library contributions and OhioLINK central funds.
You will be prompted to login to the EBC when accessing from off campus. See Connecting from Off Campus for help with logging in.
The WorldCat Catalog
Search WorldCat if you have exhausted other options for locating the items you need (Hiram's Library Catalog, OhioLink/SearchOhio, OneSource, etc.). WorldCat is the world's largest network of library content and services. Currently, this shared catalog contains the collections of 72,000 libraries in 170 countries and territories.
If you find something in WorldCat that you want but can't find it in the Hiram College Library collection or OhioLINK you'll need to fill out an InterLibrary Loan Form to request the item.
The time required to locate and obtain these materials can vary so please be proactive in your research. When in doubt please visit the library and talk to our librarians for help.
The easiest way to locate a particular journal or magazine is to use the search box above.
What does using this search help you with?
What does this search NOT help you with?
Some issues that you may encounter when looking for Journals & Magazines.
Your search of the online catalog of Books, CDs, and DVDs in the Hiram College Library has led you to the following. How do you find it on the shelf? How do you know if it is an eBook or a print book?
|
||||||||||
| LOCATION | CALL # | STATUS | ||||||||
| HIRAM Main Collection | 320.1 Toc-K 2010 | AVAILABLE | ||||||||
Dewey Decimal Classification
The main Dewey Decimal classes are:
000 Generalities
100 Philosophy and psychology
200 Religion
300 Social Sciences
400 Language
500 Natural sciences and mathematics
600 Technology (Applied sciences)
700 The arts (fine and decorative)
800 Literature and rhetoric
900 Geography and history
Each class is further subdivided at the hundred divisions and the thousand sections. Numbers are placed after a decimal point to further identify material more specifically by subject.
The following table below will help with the most frequent locations.
On every entry in the Hiram College Library catalog you will find a section below the Title that looks like this:
LOCATION entry tells you where the item is located physically in the building.
Table of Locations
| Location | Call Number | Arranged by | Floor |
| Main Collection | 0 through 799.99999999 | Dewey Call Number | 2nd floor |
| Main Collection | 800 through 999.999999 | Dewey Call Number | 3rd floor |
| Fiction | Call numbers start with "F" | Alphabetically by Author | 4th floor (Clock Tower) |
| Music Scores | All call numbers | Dewey Call Number | 2nd floor |
| CD Collection | Call numbers start with musical genre | Genre then composer or artist | Lower Level Chamberlain Room |
| Film Collection | 0 through 999.9999999 | Dewey Call Number | Lower Level Chamberlain Room |
| Film Collection | Call numbers start with "Feature Film" | Alphabetically by Title | Lower Level Chamberlain Room |
| Juvenile Nonfiction | 0 through 999.9999999 | Dewey Call Number | 2nd floor |
| Juvenile Fiction | Call numbers start with "JF" | Alphabetically by Author | 2nd floor |
| Picture Books | Call numbers start with "PB" | Alphabetically by Author | 2nd floor |
| Board Books | Call numbers start with "BB" | Alphabetically by Author | 2nd floor |
| Oversize | Call numbers start with a "Q" | Dewey Call Number | 2nd floor |
| Folio | Call numbers start with "Folio" | Dewey Call Number | 2nd floor |
| Government Documents | Call numbers start with an abbreviation of the agency that produced the document | SuDocs system | 3rd floor |
The following table below will help with the most frequent locations.
On every entry in the Hiram College Library catalog you will find a section below the Title that looks like this:
STATUS entry tells you if it is on the shelf or not and if not, why.
Table of Statuses
| Status | Meaning |
| Available | Should be on Shelf. If you cannot find the item, please ask us! |
| Due (followed by a date) | Checked out and is due back on date given. You may borrow a copy through OhioLINK, if a copy is available. |
| Due (followed by a date) Off Campus | Checked out to an OhioLINK borrower and due on the date given. You may borrow a copy through OhioLINK, if a copy is available. |
| New Book Shelf | May be found on the New Book Shelf on the main floor and may be checked out. |
| Missing |
Book cannot be found. You may borrow a copy through OhioLINK, if a copy is available. |
| In Repair | Book is damaged and waiting to be repaired. You may borrow a copy through OhioLINK, if a copy is available. |
| Lib Use Only | Should be on the shelf. May not be checked out, but may be used in the library. |
| Use Online | An Internet resource that you may use online. Check the full record for the link to the item or click "View Online." |
| In Process | The book has been ordered. It may not have arrived yet, or it may be waiting for its labels and stickers before it goes on the shelf. If you have an urgent need for a title "In Process," contact library@hiram.edu with the book's full title and author. |
What if the book is checked out?
What if the book has a link instead of a call number?
If you see “Electronic Resource” or "View Online" instead of a call number, click on the title to open the record and then click the link to view the item.
What if the Library Catalog does not list the book I need?
Please check OhioLink and/or SearchOhio. You can request books yourself with your Hiram College ID, and they will be delivered to our library. If that does not work, fill out the InterLibrary Loan Form or ask us to consider purchasing it for the library by emailing us at library@hiram.edu
