Hiram College Library: UCS 20201 Course Guide: Course Specific Information

Introduction

If your course requires subject-specific resources, you will find them on this page organized by the professor's last name.

Course-Specific Content and Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database that indexes and abstracts some 9,300 periodicals, both popular and scholarly. Provides full-text to more than 5,300 journals.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexes more than 2,000 journals covering the history of the world (except the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life) from 1450 to the present. Also indexes relevant book reviews and dissertations.
Bibliography of British and Irish History This link opens in a new window
Provides bibliographic data for books, essays within books, and journal articles on historical writing dealing with the British Isles, and with the British Empire and Commonwealth, for all time periods. Access is limited to 1 user at a time. Please log out and close your browser when you are finished.
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
Indexes more than 2,000 journals covering American and Canadian history from prehistory to the present. Also includes citations to relevant book reviews and dissertations.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Fully searchable full-text of nearly 1,000 scholarly journals. JSTOR provides back files to the first issue of a journal, but stops 3 to 5 years before the current publication year. Covers all disciplines.
ITER: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance This link opens in a new window
A bibliography of books and articles related to all aspects of the Middle Ages and the Renaissance (400-1700) in Europe.

OneSource
OneSource provides one-stop access to the Library's collections by searching across hundreds of catalogs, indexes, and databases.

To find book reviews:

In an EBSCO Database (Academic Search Complete, America History & Life, Historical Abstracts, OneSource), select "Book Review" under the Source Type limiter on the left- hand side.
In JSTOR, start with an Advanced Search and select "Reviews" under Item Type. Or, once you've done a search, select "Modify Search" and then select "Reviews."
In ITER, start with an Advanced Search and select "Review" under Type of Work.

Tutorials for using the Bibliography of British and Irish History (BBIH):

The BBIH has created tutorial videos for searching within their database; you can access those videos here.

While there are some databases that index journals relevant to this course, you may find it helpful to search specific journals for your topics.

Asian Journal of Peacebuilding
Asian Journal of Peacebuilding is a semiannual, peer-reviewed journal launched by the Institute for Peace and Unification Studies (IPUS) at Seoul National University. It publishes original research on the topics of violence, conflict, and peacebuilding around the world.
Journal homepage for browsing issues is available here. This journal is indexed in the Seoul National University (SNU) repository.
Journal of Asian Studies
Articles, book reviews and lists of recently published books in fields concerning China and Inner Asia, Japan, Korea, South Asia, Southeast Asia, library science and teaching.
Seoul Journal of Korean Studies
The SJKS is published twice a year (June and December) by the Kyujanggak Institute for Korean Studies at Seoul National University. Launched in 1989, it has continuously striven to present important new research on Korea in English, by scholars from Korea and other countries.
Journal of Peace and Unification Studies
The Journal of Peace and Unification Studies is published by The Institute for Peace and Unification Studies (IPUS) at Seoul National University which focuses on research peace and unification of the Korean Peninsula.
The journal is indexed in SNU's open repository. Articles are in English or Korean.
International Journal of Asian Studies
International Journal of Asian Studies (IJAS) is an interdisciplinary, English-language forum for research in the humanities and social sciences. Its purpose is to foster multi-directional communication among the global Asian studies community.

One Source, Academic Search Complete, and other EBSCO Databases will provide some full text options and allow you to limit to specific publications. (Example: Click on advanced search once you have accessed the database. Type in a keyword such as North Korea, and then select a journal title or title keyword such as Asian Studies.

Advanced search in Academic Search Complete

OneSource
OneSource provides one-stop access to the Library's collections by searching across hundreds of catalogs, indexes, and databases.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database that indexes and abstracts some 9,300 periodicals, both popular and scholarly. Provides full-text to more than 5,300 journals.

Journal of East Asian Studies
The Journal of East Asian Studies is devoted to publishing cutting edge social science on East and Southeast Asia. The JEAS publishes primarily in the fields of international relations, including both international political economy and security studies, and comparative politics. It may also include interdisciplinary work and contributions from sociology, applied economics and business studies as well.
This title is indexed in Academic Search Complete.
European Journal of East Asian Studies
Multi-disciplinary journal dedicated to East Asia, one of the most varied, complex, and rapidly changing parts of the world. Special theme issues on aftermath of financial crisis, budding mass cultures and bio-ethics in East Asia.
This title is indexed in Academic Search Complete.
The Peace Review
Peace Review: A Journal of Social Justice is a quarterly, multidisciplinary, transnational journal of research and analysis, focusing on the current issues and controversies that underlie the promotion of a more peaceful world. Social progress requires, among other things, sustained intellectual work, which should be pragmatic as well as analytical. The results of that work should be ingrained into everyday culture and political discourse. Based at the University of San Francisco.

The databases listed below may provide context or background information for future research. Remember to evaluate the source and its goals before proceeding.

Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexes more than 2,000 journals covering the history of the world (except the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life) from 1450 to the present. Also indexes relevant book reviews and dissertations.
International Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Produced by the International Political Science Association, this database indexes dome 900 of the world's leading political science journals.
Political Science Complete This link opens in a new window
Indexes articles, books, and conference papers in comparative politics, international relations, law and legislation, political theory, and more. Full-text for 550 journals, 340 books, and 38,000 conference papers.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
Covers current and controversial social issues from immigration to gun control to fracking. Viewpoint essays present different sides to an issue and the database adds periodical articles, statistics, video/audio, news articles, and primary sources.

Databases and Resources for Peer Reviewed Content

OneSource
OneSource provides one-stop access to the Library's collections by searching across hundreds of catalogs, indexes, and databases.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database that indexes and abstracts some 9,300 periodicals, both popular and scholarly. Provides full-text to more than 5,300 journals.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Fully searchable full-text of nearly 1,000 scholarly journals. JSTOR provides back files to the first issue of a journal, but stops 3 to 5 years before the current publication year. Covers all disciplines.
International Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Produced by the International Political Science Association, this database indexes dome 900 of the world's leading political science journals.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
Covers current and controversial social issues from immigration to gun control to fracking. Viewpoint essays present different sides to an issue and the database adds periodical articles, statistics, video/audio, news articles, and primary sources.
Political Science Complete This link opens in a new window
Indexes articles, books, and conference papers in comparative politics, international relations, law and legislation, political theory, and more. Full-text for 550 journals, 340 books, and 38,000 conference papers.

Facts/Country Information

CultureGrams This link opens in a new window
CultureGrams provides country reports that deliver a one-of-a-kind perspective on daily life and culture, including the background, customs, and lifestyles of the world's people. The reports are written and reviewed by in-country experts and are updated as new information becomes available. Users link to the reports via an engaging, map-based interface.
Oxford Research Encyclopedias This link opens in a new window
Articles written, peer-reviewed and edited by scholars covering 25 subjects. Articles, which are being added and updated on a regular basis, help break down broad subjects like International Studies or Neuroscience.

CIA World Factbook
The World Factbook provides basic intelligence on the history, people, government, economy, energy, geography, environment, communications, transportation, military, terrorism, and transnational issues for 266 world entities.
Congressional Research Service Reports
The Congressional Research Service serves the Congress throughout the legislative process by providing comprehensive and reliable legislative research and analysis that are timely, objective, authoritative, and confidential, thereby contributing to an informed national legislature.
more...less...
For this class, you might find information about your country that was provided to Congress.
Hiram College Library's Government Documents
The Hiram College Library is a Federal Depository Library Program member and houses a number of print and online government publications for research purposes.

The following databases are great places to start your research for this class. Note that Academic Search Complete and JSTOR are databases that search for information in all kinds of subjects, while the others in the list are specifically designed to focus on articles and information related to your course topics (health, students, etc.).

General Purpose Resources (multiple subjects)

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database that indexes and abstracts some 9,300 periodicals, both popular and scholarly. Provides full-text to more than 5,300 journals.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Fully searchable full-text of nearly 1,000 scholarly journals. JSTOR provides back files to the first issue of a journal, but stops 3 to 5 years before the current publication year. Covers all disciplines.
Oxford Research Encyclopedias This link opens in a new window
Articles written, peer-reviewed and edited by scholars covering 25 subjects. Articles, which are being added and updated on a regular basis, help break down broad subjects like International Studies or Neuroscience.

Health/Medical Resources

CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Indexes some 1,800 journals in nursing and allied health, with full text of more than 770 journals. Coverage back to 1982.
JAMA - The Journal of The American Medical Association This link opens in a new window
JAMA, published continuously since 1883, is an international peer-reviewed general medical journal. JAMA is a member of The JAMA Network family of journals, which includes 10 specialty journals.
Medline (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
The National Library of Medicine’s database of more than 11 million bibliographic citations in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care, and related areas. This EBSCO version adds full-text for a number of journals, as well as a Find It link for other citations so you can determine if the Hiram College Library provides access to that article.
The New England Journal of Medicine This link opens in a new window
The journal contains landmark research in all areas of medicine. Charts, graphs, and illustrations are included. Search current issue or past issues dating back to the 1800s.

Educational Resources

Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts more than 1,500 journals covering all levels of education. Also includes full-text of more than 100 books and a number of conference papers.
ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
The world’s largest source of education information with more than 1.4 million citations to articles, books, conference papers, policy papers, and other education-related resources. This EBSCO version adds links to the full-text of articles in other EBSCO databases, as well as a Find It link for other citations so you can determine if the Hiram College Library provides access to that article. Also provided are links to the full-text of ERIC documents on the Department of Education’s ERIC Web site.
Chronicle of Higher Education This link opens in a new window
Generally considered “the No. 1 source of news, information, and jobs for college and university faculty members and administrators,” the Chronicle provides timely and credible news coverage of higher education in the U. S. and around the world. Note: create an account so that you can access the website directly when you are off campus without having to authenticate via the library.

Psychology Resources

Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text to nearly 500 journals in psychology, psychiatry, and anthropology.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
The online version of Psychological Abstracts provides indexing to articles and books chapters published worldwide from 1887 to the present.

Other resources:

The Hiram College Library has a "Resources for YOU" guide that outlines many of the resources and support you can find at Hiram College as well as materials in the library to support your health and wellness. There are also a few fun things!

Resources for YOU
Resources, support, relaxation, and a little bit of fun to support you and your health.

Chicago Style Citations and the Chicago Manual of Style

Hiram College Library subscribes to the Chicago Manual of Style online and also maintains a copy of the print edition in the library's collection.

Chicago Manual of Style Online This link opens in a new window
The Chicago Manual of Style (abbreviated in writing as CMS or CMOS, or verbally as Chicago) is a style guide for American English published since 1906 by the University of Chicago Press. Its sixteen editions have prescribed writing and citation styles widely used in publishing. The CMS deals with aspects of editorial practice, from American English grammar and usage to document preparation.

The Chicago Manual of Style by University of Chicago Press Editorial Staff
Call Number: 808.027 Chi 2017
ISBN: 9780226287058
Publication Date: 2017-09-05

APA Citations - in depth resources

APA Citation Style Resources

APA Style 7th edition Quick Guide (Shippensburg University Library)
A quick guide to APA 7th edition formatting

APA Style Guide: Figures
Any visual item (images, graphs, charts, etc.) are considered figures and must be added to your paper in a specific format. The APA Style Guide details how to correctly label and format your figures.

APA 7 Template
A template document for APA 7th edition that you can use instead of the iPad's standard APA 6th edition template

APA Formatting and Style Guide - OWL (Online Writing Lab) at Purdue
Excelsior Online Writing Lab: APA References
How to document sources at the end of your paper.
Sample APA Paper - Purdue OWL

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by American Psychological Association
ISBN: 9781433832154
Publication Date: 2019-10-01
Concise Guide to APA Style by American Psychological Association Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: 808.06615 Con 2020
ISBN: 9781433832734
Publication Date: 2019-12-01
Concise Guide to APA Style, Seventh Edition is the official APA Style resource for students. Designed specifically for undergraduate writing, this easy-to-use pocket guide is adapted from the seventh edition of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association.

Basics of APA Tutorials
Shows beginning users how to structure and format their work, recommends ways to reduce bias in language, identifies how to avoid charges of plagiarism, shows how to cite references in text, and provides selected reference examples. Provided by the APA.
Examining APA Citations (7th ed.)
An interactive tutorial that examines the elements of APA citations. Includes a brief quiz and resources for further exploration. Presented by the Virginia Tech Libraries.
CrossRef
Use CrossRef to look up Digital Object Identifiers (DOI) for APA citations.
APA Style and Grammar Guidelines
Provides information about formatting your paper, using proper grammar and language, and setting up tables and figures. From the APA.
APA Style Citation information - Shippensburg University
This guide provides information for citing sources in the APA style, most commonly used in the social sciences. You'll find sample formatting information for creating in-text citations and reference entries.
Each example also cites the page number from the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association 7th Edition where you can find more information for developing your citations.