Hiram College Library: Editorial Articles Comparing Ancient Rome to the United States 2025: Home

Start Your Search Here

Tip: Use a keyword search instead of a whole question. Then narrow down the results with the filters on the side.

Find a Specific Journal

News Sources

Looking for news? We've got you covered. From current events to business, sports, and historical news, explore our collection of reliable resources.

Click here to stay informed!

A-Z List of Databases
Search by subject, type, or name

Heads up! OhioLINK Print Lending Freeze

Starting May 23, 2025, the OhioLINK request button will disappear for 4 - 6 weeks as lending of print books from Ohio's academic libraries will be paused. Plan ahead - request books for Summer & Fall terms early this Spring! For more details, click here.

Ohio Academic Libraries
Borrow books from academic libraries across Ohio and pick up at Hiram College Library with OhioLINK!
Ohio Public Libraries
Borrow from public libraries across Ohio and pick up at Hiram College Library with SearchOhio!

What types of materials can I borrow through SearchOhio and OhioLINK? You can request print materials, audiobooks, music, movies and other formats.
How long before I receive my requested material? Most arrive within a week, but it depends on their availability. You’ll be notified by email when they arrive.
How do I return items? Drop them off at Hiram Library!
Are there different rules for borrowing? Yes. Items have different loan periods, renewal limits, daily fine rates and replacement costs than the items you borrow from Hiram College Library.

This quick guide explains how to find editorial articles that compare the United States to ancient Rome from the past five years.

Hiram Library Website Home

Questions? Email library@hiram.edu

🍎 Search Strategy

Boolean searching is a way to refine database searches using AND, OR, and NOT to combine or exclude keywords. Quotations marks keep phrases together. Here are some search strings to try:

"Ancient Rome" AND "United States" AND comparison
"Rome" AND America AND democracy OR republic
"Roman Empire" AND "United States" AND decline OR collapse OR politics
"Fall of Rome" AND America OR "United States"
"Lessons from Rome" AND "modern America"

🍎 Sources for Articles

Nexis Uni
Provides access to 15,000+ credible sources, including news, legal cases, business info, journals, broadcasts, and global newspapers.

Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Covers current and controversial social issues from immigration to gun control to fracking. Viewpoint essays present different sides to an issue and the database adds periodical articles, statistics, video/audio, news articles, and primary sources.

New York Times
Contains every article published in the New York Times since 1851. First, set up an account. Then go to nytimes.com and login.

Wall Street Journal
Search the full-text of the Wall Street Journal from 1984 to the present.

Editorial Articles Comparing Ancient Rome to the United States 2025

Connect with a Librarian