Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

INTD Differences and Disagreements: How Do We Build Bridges to Identify Commonalities

This course will consider an urgent challenge from at least a variety of defined disciplinary perspectives, such as language, social studies, political science and psychology. Questions will consider both the broad conceptual and philosophical issue as we

What are Databases?

Online indexes of journal articles, abstracts. Other types of databases also exist, including many that contain full-text journal articles. Some databases also contain citations for books, book chapters, newspaper/magazine articles, and more.

Keyword Examples:

Various Databases

commonality

stereotypes

prejudice

generalization

discrimination

 

Subject Terms Examples:

Academic Source Complete

STEREOTYPES in mass media

CLASSISM

EQUALITY

NEGATIVITY bias

APPEARANCE discrimination

PREJUDICES

Thoughts on your assignments:

How do we find the ties that bind us together, not the traits that differ but the core things that we share. 

How do we develop those skills which allow us to over come the stereotypes, differences, and biases which separate us. 

How can YOU do it?

Finding Articles

Reading the bibliographies of a good article or book can be very helpful.  But how do you find one of the sources listed?  Look up the part written in italics.


If your citation looks something like the one below, then it's an article.  (Hint:  You know it's a journal article if you see volume/issue/page #s.)

   Morrow, P. ‘‘Those Sick Challenger Jokes.’’ Journal of Popular Culture. 20.4 (1987): 175-84.

Finding it: 

   -look up the title of the journal in the OneSource Journal Finder (Note:  Look up the journal title, which is in italics, not the "article title," which is in "quotation marks.")
   -if the journal is available electronically, you can search within the journal itself or click on the "Full Text Access" link, and check if we have access to the year you need
   -if the journal is available in print, read the rest of the journal's record to see if we have the volume/issue you need
 

If your citation looks something like the one below, then it's a book.  (Hint:  You know it's a book if you see a city and a publisher/press)

   Framing Monsters: Fantasy Film and Social Alienation; Bellin, Joshua David; 2005, Carbondale : Southern Illinois University Press.

Finding it:
   -look up the title of the book in the Hiram Library Catalog
   -if we don't have it, click on the OhioLINK button to find it in another Ohio library

OneSource Search

Precision in Searching

The words "AND," "OR," and "NOT" can help you make a search more precise.

For example, the search 'films AND psychology NOT children', will return a search with results that contain the keywords 'films' and 'pyschology' but not 'children' - important if you are only looking at adolescent psychology in films.