Obituaries for national figures are often in the New York Times and local papers, while local figures' obituaries are usually only in local papers. The Hiram College Library provides access to both!
Be sure to register for a NY Times Account following our instructions before using the NY Times.
🍎The New York Times contains every article, fully searchable, published in the New York Times since 1851. First, set up an account (instructions here). Then just connect to nytimes.com and login. Or, once you have your account set up, download the NYTimes app from the app store. For more information on setting up an account and using the iPad app, see the New York Times Subject Guide.
Search current and archived issues of The Plain Dealer. Great for exploring Cleveland-area news and history.
Find full-text and image-rich articles from Kent and Ravenna's Record-Courier, with historical archives included. A resource for Portage County news and stories.
Use current news sources for obituaries & death notices for leaders who died within the last 20(ish) years.
Research diverse perspectives on current events and trends in areas such as Political Science, English, Sociology, Humanities, Business, and more, with trusted sources like the Akron Beacon Journal, Plain Dealer, and USA Today.
Access every article published in The New York Times since 1851, fully searchable. To get started, enter “Hiram College” on the login page and click Go. If you're off campus, you'll be prompted to log in with your Hiram email credentials. Once you're connected, you can read articles on the website or download the NYTimes app for convenient mobile access using the same login.
Containing more than 15,000 credible news, legal and business sources, Nexis Uni includes access to print and online journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs, as well as local, regional, national and international newspapers, legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, business information on U.S. and international companies and executives. Watch Tutorials ▶️
Search current and archived issues of The Plain Dealer. Great for exploring Cleveland-area news and history.
Access every article published in The New York Times since 1851, fully searchable. To get started, enter “Hiram College” on the login page and click Go. If you're off campus, you'll be prompted to log in with your Hiram email credentials. Once you're connected, you can read articles on the website or download the NYTimes app for convenient mobile access using the same login.
Find full-text and image-rich articles from Kent and Ravenna's Record-Courier, with historical archives included. A resource for Portage County news and stories.
While historic information may be contained in multiple databases, these databases are specifically focused on historical research.
Search and read full-text articles from nearly 1,000 scholarly journals. JSTOR has older journal issues going back to the very first but usually doesn’t include the most recent 3 to 5 years. It covers lots of subjects across many fields. Watch Tutorials ▶️
A great starting point for research in many subjects. Includes thousands of full-text articles from both scholarly journals and popular magazines in the sciences, humanities, and social sciences. Watch Tutorials ▶️