Hiram College Library: Find: Find Articles (Databases/Indexes)

Where to Start

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database that indexes and abstracts some 9,300 periodicals, both popular and scholarly. Provides full-text to more than 5,300 journals.
Biosis Previews This link opens in a new window
The key indexing source in biology, it covers nearly 6,000 journals published around the world.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts some 5,000 business-related publications. Provides full-text to more than 4,000 periodicals. Coverage of important scholarly journals goes back to the first issue (or back to 1886 in the most extreme case). Also includes financial data, industry reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses, market research reports, and more.
Communication and Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Indexes some 400 titles related to the media and communication studies. Nearly 200 of the titles are also available in full-text. Some coverage back as far as 1915.
Electronic Journal Center (EJC) This link opens in a new window
Searchable, full-text issues of journals from a number of major publishers. More than 7,000 journals are available.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Fully searchable full-text of nearly 1,000 scholarly journals. JSTOR provides back files to the first issue of a journal, but stops 3 to 5 years before the current publication year. Covers all disciplines.
Medline (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
The National Library of Medicine’s database of more than 11 million bibliographic citations in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care, and related areas. This EBSCO version adds full-text for a number of journals, as well as a Find It link for other citations so you can determine if the Hiram College Library provides access to that article.
MLA Directory of Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Provides addresses, ad rates, and submission information for more than 4,400 periodicals regularly indexed in the MLA International Bibliography.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text to nearly 500 journals in psychology, psychiatry, and anthropology.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
The online version of Psychological Abstracts provides indexing to articles and books chapters published worldwide from 1887 to the present.

You can find articles in several ways.

Using a Library Subject Guide. Subject Guides have been built to give you some selected indexes for each of the Majors (subjects) at Hiram College. Each Guide has a section called "Articles" which will take you to a recommended list of indexes for the subject you are working in.
Our Database A to Z List.
Using a general topic index such as Academic Search Complete. ASC is a good starting point as it contains some material about many subjects. Usually you can get a good start on a research project here.

A Library Index, also called a database, is an electronic catalog that acts like a search engine usually covering one or more broad subject areas. Unlike a website engine like Google, library indexes contain records of articles and journals about those subject areas.

Some databases provide full text of an article, typically in PDF or HTML format. (If an article you have found does not have full text click on the button in order to search for other sources of the for same article.)
Other indexes contain other resources such as images, government documents, and book reviews.
Library Indexes help you search for articles in a particular topic.