Hiram College Library: Find: Find Audio Visual Materials

Searching for AV Materials

Some of the best sources for AV materials are listed below, any of the following databases can provide you a start in searching.

Images from the Fremont News Messenger This link opens in a new window
Photographs of people, places, and events appearing in Sandusky County's only daily newspaper. Covers 1973 to the mid-1990s. Provided by the Rutherford B. Hayes Presidential Center.
WPA Prints by Cleveland Artists This link opens in a new window
Scanned images of works of art by Cleveland artists commissioned by the Works Progress Administration during the Great Depression.
National Underground Railroad Freedom Center This link opens in a new window
Images and Documents from the Center and museum in Cincinnati.
Alexander Street Video This link opens in a new window
A streaming video platform providing access to thousands of videos (with no overlap with Kanopy), mostly documentary in nature. Among the collections are Bullfrog Films, Icarus Films, BBC, Filmakers Library, Sony Pictures Classics, and more. Once a video is viewed a fourth time for 30 seconds or more, the library is billed for a one-year license. Please carefully select your items before clicking on them.
MAS Ultra: School Edition This link opens in a new window
Indexes more than 600 periodicals for high school students with some 500 in full-text. Also includes an image collection, some basic reference sources, and tables, charts, and graphs.
Ohio Memory Project This link opens in a new window
Digital images from archives, historical societies, libraries and museums across Ohio. The state's answer to the American Memory Project, the database includes items from Hiram College.
Science Reference Center This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive research database of full-text resources designed for high school and introduction college science courses. Covers biology, chemistry, earth and space science, environmental science, medicine, physics, and the history of science. Includes periodicals, reference books, images, and videos.

AV Materials at DRC

The Ohio Digital Resource Commons (DRC) is a site dedicated to maintaining and providing access to the research, historic and creative materials produced by the University System of Ohio and Ohio's liberal arts colleges. Additional information on the DRC is available from the links to the left.

Finding AV Items in the Catalog

Spelling is important. Capitalization is not. Punctuation may be. Write down all call numbers before going to the shelf.

A quick way to see what the library owns is to use the Basic Search and enter one or two keywords and then limit the search by using the limit drop down at the right of the screen that starts with View Entire Collection.
Scroll down till you get to either Film Collection Only, or Music Collection Only depending what media you want.
You may also browse the audiovisuals by author, title, subject, and call number.

Where are AV items stored?

Audiovisual items are stored in one of two areas in the Library.

DVDs, VHS, and Music CDs are stored on the first floor near the Circulation desk.
LP's, 45's, and other Records are found on the Lower Level.