Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
In-person Research Help
Librarians can assist you with your research, including locating the right citation, database, or book; creating research plans; and learning how to use online or print research resources. Stop by the Ask Here desk and ask to speak with a librarian, or email us at email@example.com with your questions or to make an appointment. A librarian is generally in the building 8 a.m. - 5:30 p.m. M-F, but we are available other times by appointment.
Online Research Help
The library's website also has resources to help you with your research.
Online Research Overview
This page on the library's website has tips and tricks for completing your research and a list of Research Guides to help you with everything from citations to using Google Scholar.
Resources by Subject or Class
Subject Guides are pages created by librarians which can point you in the direction of relevant materials for your research and papers. These can be found for most majors and disciplines in our Guide List.
Course Guides provide resource lists specifically for your course or assignment. If you find that you have no Course Guide please contact a librarian for help finding resources for your class.
Sometimes, professors put required textbooks as well as other course materials on course reserve. These items typically have a two hour checkout period to allow lots of students access to them.
To see what materials a professor has placed on reserve, visit the Ask Here Desk or search the library catalog.
A valid Hiram ID is all that is needed to check out course reserves.
Journal Article Quick Links
Need to find an online journal article? These databases cover a wide range of subjects and can be a good place to start a journal article search.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database that indexes and abstracts some 9,300 periodicals, both popular and scholarly. Provides full-text to more than 5,300 journals.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Fully searchable full-text of nearly 1,000 scholarly journals. JSTOR provides back files to the first issue of a journal, but stops 3 to 5 years before the current publication year. Covers all disciplines.
Electronic Journal Center (EJC) This link opens in a new window
Searchable, full-text issues of journals from a number of major publishers. More than 7,000 journals are available.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
Covers current and controversial social issues from immigration to gun control to fracking. Viewpoint essays present different sides to an issue and the database adds periodical articles, statistics, video/audio, news articles, and primary sources.
A-Z List of Electronic Resources
Hiram College Library has hundreds of online resources for a variety of subjects. Use the "Ways to Search Box" to select a database by subject or go directly to the A-Z list of databases. Off-campus users will be prompted to login with their Hiram username and password to authenticate their access.