Hiram College Library: Hiram College Library: Archives

Hiram College Archives

The Hiram College Archives is open by appointment only.
Please contact library@hiram.edu for more information or to schedule an appointment.

The Hiram College Archives preserves materials related to the history of Hiram College, Hiram Village, and James A. Garfield. A portion of the James A. Garfield Collection is available online through the Cleveland Memory Project, but all other archival collections are only available in physical format.

Due to limited space and staffing, the Archives only collects materials related to Hiram College or Hiram Village/Township. See the Collection Development Policy for details.

James A. Garfield Collections

James A. Garfield Collection Finding Aid
4 record storage boxes of documents and photographs, 4 half-size record storage boxes, 6 record storage boxes of Garfield related books, 12 ½ linear feet of unboxed Garfield related books, 3 record storage boxes of Garfield related memorabilia and miscellaneous photographs.

James A. Garfield Collection on Cleveland Memory
The James A. Garfield Collection contains primary and secondary sources regarding the life and death of President Garfield and his family. A portion of the collection has been digitized for The Cleveland Memory Project.

Special Collections

These finding aids are not a complete list of our collections or their contents. More will be added as updates are made.

Hiram College History - Organizational Arrangement of Institutional Records
A finding aid outlining the archival collections for Hiram College as an Institution.

Hiram College Collection at Ohio Memory
A small selection of historical content related to Hiram College and the Western Reserve Eclectic Institute is online at Ohio Memory. Includes topics such as James A. Garfield, the Barrow Field Station, study abroad trips, and the Cleveland Browns Training Camp.

The Showboat Majestic Finding Aid
A finding aid for the Showboat Collection in the Hiram College Archives.
The Showboat Majestic: An Essay by Grace Domabyl '24
An essay outlining the history of the Showboat Majestic and the Showboat Theater by Grace Domabiyl, class of 2024.
Charles F. McKinley, Ph.D. Collection Finding Aid
This collection includes the personal and professional papers of Charles F. McKinley. Correspondence and photographs are also included but not fully listed on the finding aid at this time.
Sugar Day History
Poster created by Ian Johnson, class of 2023, about the history of Sugar Day at Hiram College

Hiram History Collections

Mildred Bennett Local History Special Collections
Mildred Bennett was an enthusiast of local history. In addition to her active participation in the village of Hiram and her long-time association with the Hiram Historical Society, she donated portions of her personal historical collection to the Hiram College Archives. In recognition of her significant contributions to both the collection and the preservation of local history, the collection was named in her honor.

Hiram Historical Society Collection on Ohio Memory
A selection of photos and documents from the Hiram Historical Society digitized for Ohio Memory.