Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Hiram College Library

Hiram College Library fosters intellectual excellence and encourages lifelong learning in the Hiram community.

About Us

Hours of Operation - 2020-21 School Year*

DAYS HOURS
Monday – Thursday 7:45 am – 11:00 pm 
Friday 7:45 am – 6:00 pm
Saturday 10:00 am – 5:00 pm 
Sunday 1:00 pm – 11:00 pm 

You can reach the circulation desk at (330)-569-5489 or by emailing library@hiram.edu

Media Center Hours - 2020-21 School Year (*)

DAYS HOURS
Monday – Thursday 8:00 am – 8:00 pm
Friday 8:00 am – 5:00 pm
Saturday 10:00 am – 5:00 pm
Sunday 3:00 pm – 8:00 pm

(*) Media Services is currently open by appointment only. Contact the department at 330-569-5360 or instech@hiram.edu to schedule.

Research assistance hours differ from the building operating hours.

For research assistance, please reach out to our staff:

 

You can also contact the Writing Center.

 

Special Openings & Closings (2020-21 School Year)

DATE SPECIAL HOURS
Labor Day Weekend

Sept 4th 7:45 am - 5:00 pm
Sept 5th Closed
Sept 6th Closed
Sept 7th Closed

Fall Weekend
No fall weekend for 2020.
Open regular hours.
Fall 12-Week Exams and Interim
Nov 20th 7:45 am – 6:00 pm
Nov 21st 10 am – 7:00 pm
Nov 22nd 1 pm – Midnight
Nov 23rd 7:45 am – Midnight
Nov 24th 7:45 am – 7:00 pm
Nov 25th 7:45 am – 12:00 pm (all campus offices close at noon)
Nov 26th Closed
Nov 27th Closed
Nov 28th Closed
Nov 29th Closed
Nov 30th 8:30 am – 4:00 pm
Dec 1st 8:30 am –4:00 pm
3-Week Final Exam Day
Dec 19th By appointment only.
Email library@hiram.edu by 9 a.m. 12/18 to request access to the building.
Email library@hiram.edu by 4 p.m. 12/18 to request a Zoom appointment with a librarian.
Holiday Interim
Dec 20th Closed
Dec 21st 8:30 am - 4:00 pm
Dec 22nd 8:30 am - 4:00 pm
Dec 23rd Closed
Dec 24th Closed
Dec 25th Closed
Dec 26th Closed
Dec 27th Closed
Dec 28th Closed
Dec 29th Closed
Dec 30th Closed
Dec 31th Closed
Jan 1st Closed
Jan 2nd Closed
Jan 3rd Closed
Jan 4th 8:30 am - 5:00 pm
Jan 5th 8:30 am - 5:00 pm
Jan 6th 8:30 am - 5:00 pm
Jan 7th 8:30 am - 5:00 pm
Jan 8th 8:30 am - 5:00 pm
Jan 9th Closed
Jan 10th Closed
Jan 11th 8:30 am - 5:00 pm
Jan 12th 8:30 am - 5:00 pm
Jan 13th 8:30 am - 5:00 pm
Jan 14th 8:30 am - 5:00 pm
Martin Luther King Jr.

Jan 15th 8:30 am - 5:00 pm
Jan 16th Closed
Jan 17th Closed
Jan 18th Closed

Spring Break

No Spring Break 2021, open regular hours.

Spring 12 Week Exams and Interim

Apr 11th 1:00 pm - Midnight
Apr 12th 7:45 am - Midnight
Apr 13th 7:45 am - Midnight
Apr 14th 7:45 am - 5:00 pm
Apr 15th 8:30 am - 5:00 pm
Apr 16th 8:30 am - 5:00 pm
Apr 17th Closed
Apr 18th Closed
Apr 19th 8:30 am - 5:00 pm
Apr 20th 8:30 am - 11:00 pm

3 Week Final Exams May 12th 7:45 am - 5:00 pm
Commencement Weekend

May 13th 8:30 am - 5:00 pm
May 14th 8:30 am - 5:00 pm
May 15th Closed
May 16th Closed

Summer Break

May 17th - Aug 30th

Monday - Friday: 8:30 am - 5 pm (8:30 - 4 pm June 13-July 30)
Saturday: Closed
Sunday: Closed
Memorial Day

May 31st Closed

Independence Day

July 5th Closed

24-Hour Access

Remember, you can always use our digital resources 24/7. Please see our Research Page for further information.

Summer Hours

DAYS HOURS
Monday – Friday 8:30 am – 5:00 pm (8:30 - 4 pm June 13-July 30)
Saturday Closed
Sunday Closed

Locating the Hiram College Library

Our address is: P.O. Box 67, Hiram, OH 44234

The Library is located on the campus of Hiram College near Bates Hall, the Post Office, and the Hiram Inn. Below is a Google Map which can help you find your way to us.

Please visit our COVID-19 information page before coming to campus. 

If you are on campus look for the clock tower as we are one of the tallest buildings on campus. If you would like additional help please give us a call at (330)-569-5489.

 

Hiram College Library Campus Map (PDF)

Contact Our Staff 

Terri Foy

Circulation Officer

foytm@hiram.edu

330.569.5359 or x5359

Jason Schafer

Digital Services and

Instruction Librarian

schaferj@hiram.edu

330.569.5363 or x5363

Laurence Skirvin

Technical Services Librarian

skirvinlt@hiram.edu

330.569.5901 or x5901

Janet Vogel

Director

vogelj@hiram.edu

330.569.5353 or x5353

If you're not sure who to contact, or for general questions, get in touch with our Circulation Desk at 330.569.5489 or email library@hiram.edu

Policies & Procedures

General Policy

Members of the general public are welcome to use the Hiram College Library.  Use of the library is defined as use of library services and/or collections (both print and online) within the building.  Members of the general public are especially invited to make use of the Federal Depository Collection and the State of Ohio Depository Collection.

To enable the use of its collections, the library makes available several computers to allow access to the library’s online catalog, as well as internet access.  Word processing and other software is not available.  Electronic information, services, software, and networks provided directly or indirectly shall be accessible in accordance with licensing or contractual requirements.  Use of the computers implies consent with the Hiram College Acceptable Use Policy.

There is a small charge for printing, although the fee is waived for most government documents.  Parents should note the Library does not filter internet access and is not responsible for children viewing online (and print) materials that may be considered unsuitable by the parents.

Materials may be checked out only by persons with a Hiram College ID, members of the Friends of the Hiram College Library, or by those holding a valid library card from a library that is a member of either OhioLINK or SearchOhio.

Library staff are not responsible for unattended children and cannot be responsible for their safety.  Library staff reserve the right to ask anyone exhibiting disruptive or inappropriate behavior to leave the building.

All library patrons are expected to show consideration of others and cooperate with other library users and staff. A reasonably quiet environment should be maintained for the benefit of all persons in the library. Cell phone usage should be kept to a minimum and done in a manner that does not annoy other users. Food and drink is allowed, but please place your trash in trash bins found on each floor. Spills should be reported to the front desk. Shirts and shoes must be worn.

For its first 50 years, Hiram College did not have a library.

Each of the student literary societies, however, had its own small libraries, usually limited to members only. The closest the College came to a common library was the federal depository collection (established in 1874) housed in the original Hinsdale Hall.

In 1900 a gift from Abram Teachout funded the construction of the Teachout-Cooley Library, a two-story brick and wood structure with a three story tower. The collection consisted of books donated by the literary societies and the depository collection. An addition to the building was constructed in 1923.

The building was largely destroyed by fire in 1939. A new building was erected and expanded in 1948 and again in 1963. At that time, the library was renamed the Teachout-Price Memorial Library.

The current library building opened in 1995. The Hiram College Library provides a link between the old and the new with group study rooms, a variety of individual study spaces, growing collections in both print and digital, a number of computers, and wireless access.

For more in-depth histories, see:
Hiram College Library Wikipedia Entry

Our Mission:
The mission of the Hiram College Library is to create an environment that fosters intellectual excellence and encourages lifelong learning.

Our Vision:
The library is a constantly evolving organization that articulates with the changing needs of the campus and community. Traditionally perceived as a physical repository for book and journal collections, and serving as the intellectual “heart of the campus,” its roles and responsibilities have expanded with the increasing complexity of the scholarly world, the curriculum, academic pedagogy, and campus life. Libraries now add value to the learning and research process beyond what they have previously done well.

Despite the growing presence of the digital world in the lives of students, faculty, and staff, the library as a physical presence still has meaning, and in that capacity is as important as ever. The library will provide a comfortable, welcoming environment with easy access to collections and spaces that support both individual and collaborative group work.

The Library will provide collections that support the college’s curriculum, enable research at all levels (particularly undergraduate), and satisfy individual curiosity. The library will collect information regardless of type (books, journals, video, etc.), or format (print, online, multimedia, etc.), but will select based on how best to foster the library’s mission.

In order to provide easy access to those collections, the library will offer a variety of services, both personal and technological. Given, however, that the library cannot provide access to everything that might be needed on site, it will also offer services to gain access to additional materials and information, as well as services that enhance and streamline the research process.

The library will take an active leadership role in information literacy across the curriculum, campus, and community. The exponential increase in information available and the continually evolving range of formats and delivery technologies requires the library to enable people to make the best possible decisions and use of time in locating, judging, and managing information in a complex environment. Hiram College students must graduate with information literacy skills in order to meet the college’s mission.

The library will support the intellectual environment of the college through programming. Collaboration with partners on and off the campus (e.g. Friends of the Library) is vital to the success of this activity.

None of the above statements can be collectively realized as a clear vision without a sufficient number of well-trained, highly motivated staff, both professional and non-exempt, who are supported and encouraged in their own intellectual and job growth.